1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Realtek X-FI on ANY Realtek codec

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by KainXS, Mar 7, 2009.

  1. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I was just tinkering around with realteks drivers for their gigabyte boards and got the X-Fi on my unsupported Realtek 883 codec

    I will post pics later

    I need a app that will tell me if EAX 4 is compatible

    this is on XP as well
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2009
    WarEagleAU and PCpraiser100 say thanks.
  2. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    Not to be brash, but if Creative's history is not to be ignored, then explaining here how to do all that is like inviting Creative's lawyers to open a can of whoop-ass on you.

    However, feel free to send me a PM on how you did all that, as I'm quite interested.
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,275 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    i too would appreciate a PM. :)
     
  4. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    well im not gonna release any drivers only a pic ^^

    but I can tell you how its done, and its so simple anyone can do it
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,275 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    works for me.
     
  6. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    659 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    Australia
    May i have a copy of said PM?
    Please?
     
  7. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    i'm interested in the 30 day crack
     
  8. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I can tell you how to get them running with the 30 day trial but I cannot say nothing of the crack I made cause i don't want creative to destroy me lol
     
  9. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    pm if possible :)
     
  10. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I'm only gonna send a pm to mussels for now

    see if he can get it to work

    but I will say again, This is SOOOOO SIMPLE, ANYONE CAN DO IT

    EVEN A 5 year old in NOTEPAD could do this, but if you want the trial gone you gotta do that yourself
     
  11. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    PM me it sounds very interesting? Is the sound difference that big?
     
  12. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    compared to what it sounded like before, kinda

    compared to my XtremeMusic and my Omega its not very good still though

    hint- all you gotta do is change 1 line, in 1 file and it will work for every realtek HD codec

    that is how bad realtek codes their drivers, but creatives drivers do not even have to be touched
     
  13. ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    ShRoOmAlIsTiC

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    859 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    Location:
    Palm Desert, CA
    will it work in vista?
     
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,275 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    I'm trying it now, however it should be noted that the drivers in question seem to be 32 bit only. If thats the case, i wont be able to do anything more to test them.

    edit: download link says 32 bit vista only, but the files contain vista x64 and XP drivers. will report back.

    edit 2: drivers installed. testing with the software.
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2009
  15. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    i hope you can get it to work mussels i tried to get it to work on vista but it kept getting blocked so i gave up and went to xp

    "crosses fingers"
     
  16. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,424 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    The only problem i see with this is that its software emulated X-FI so I dont see what benefits there can be.. compared to a real X-FI card.. are there any?
     
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,275 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    half the X-fi cards are pure software anyway. its all a gimmick.
     
  18. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,424 (1.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    I dont really think so.. If you stick to there "gamer" Edition cards.. however i totally agree on the low-end like the "Xtreme music" and etc
     
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,275 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    well, think of this as turning any old realtek audio into an Xtreme music, with the crystalliser and EAX support.
     
  20. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    PM please :)
     
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,275 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    i've confirmed the drivers have installed, however the creative software refuses to work after installation. It says no supported hardware detected.

    Unless someone can find a way of cracking the creative software, this is dead in the water for x64 systems, possibly 32 bit as well in vista and 7.
     
  22. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    T.T
    THats what it did to me on vista too, the bypass didn't do squat on vista

    well

    anyone with XP wanna try it,

    i kno it works on XP at least

    [​IMG]

    T.T dam i really wanted to try this on vista

    on XP to get it to work all you gotta do is edit the HDA887.ini and add your codec



    man, anyone here good with drivers on vista
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,275 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,560
    Side note, if all people want is EAX, theres actually an application to do just that on realteks driver page. Not sure how high it goes, however. (EAX 2/3/4/5, i just dont know)
     
  24. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,797 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,672
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    Very interesting, iirc my G/F's GB P35DS3L has a Realtek sound setup of some sorts, I'll stick to my X-Fi Xtreme Music thank you, I don't use the extra goodies just the EQ, sounds damn good, and better than both my onboard and the g/f's onboard, though it would be interesting to do a comparison with something like this and my low-end x-fi for sure!

    I'm sure this is just the beginning, definately promising if it can happen on Vista (especially x64), definately a nice find Kain!

    :toast:
     
  25. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    nice

    I'm sad though, cause i don't really use this old XP pc anymore really, I tried it on windows 7 and the crap wouldn't even load. :p\

    well anyway, i still like my omega better
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page