1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RealTemp/Prime95 help!

Discussion in 'RealTemp' started by StevieW, Aug 26, 2013.

  1. StevieW New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi

    I *think* I have a problem with my temps, or I'm doing my usual trick of looking for a problem that isn't there!

    Last night my PC BSOD and when I booted back into the bios is was showing a CPU temp of 98C. I turned off and left for an hour and went back to the bios which showed 70C but rising half a degree approx ever 2-3 secs so I turned off at 80.

    I took the HS off, gave everything a good clean and put some fresh paste in, thinking that would do it. I've looked around for best temps etc but everyone seems to say different. I'm using an i5 760 2.8ghz w/no overclock and the stock cooler.

    A lot of places were recommending using RealTemp w/Prime95 to test temps so I did the same but my CPU never went up to 100% load yet the temps are still high.

    I'm now thinking there is still a temp issue and the CPU is throttling itself as it can't cope?

    I've attached a pic of the numbers - can someone please tell me if there is an issue or if I'm being paranoid! Thanks.

    Attached Files:

    • rt.jpg
      rt.jpg
      File size:
      107.3 KB
      Views:
      182
  2. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,068 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,974
    the temps in the pic are not a problem. I have a I7 860 running at 3.2 under a Corsair A50 heatsink and it runs at around 80' c, but that is at full load. Now that 98'c temp you got is a problem. Granted, Lynnfield, as well as Nehalem CPU's ran hot to begin with(IIRC, average load temps around 80'c), but 98'c is too hot for any CPU produced since the Intel C2D and AMD X2 CPUs were released. Hopefully you reseating the heatsink will prevent that from happening again.

    edit: I was mistaken about my 860's temps. It's running around the 70'c mark and is only running at 3.150ghz. Here's a screen shot of it's settings and temps-

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. StevieW New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for the quick reply! Good to know the temps are good - puts my mind at rest!

    What about the CPU load though? The test only seemed to take the load into the mid 30's - is something being throttled or have I just done test wrong? Also, are those temps high for a 30% load or am I reading too much into all this?
  4. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,068 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,974
    Prime95 does the same with my CPUs as well. If you really want to put your CPU under a full load, DL and install Bionic. It will push all your cores and processing threads to their maximum speeds/load. You can DL it from here(use version7.0.64)- http://boinc.berkeley.edu/download_all.php
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. StevieW New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks mate, will give it a try. Cheers for the info.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page