1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rebuild a ntfs partition table?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by [I.R.A]_FBi, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i need to rebuild a ntfs partition table without formating and losing the data. how do i do this? its saying drive needs to be formated
    but doing a chkdsk /f but at the end it says aborted insufiecnt space to fix volume bitmap. Tis an external drive
  2. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Hunt down a utility called testdisk, the one I used was 6.9. I had lost my partition table buggering about one day, and testdisk sorted it out in seconds.
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    i have test disk 6.10 do you want it? im trying to use it right now for my 1TB backup drive..
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  4. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    LOL, trying? If I could work it I'm sure you'll manage it...
  5. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,164 (5.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,549
    Location:
    Florida
    you have no idea how wrecked my drive is....my rig went into sleep mode (mistake) and i didnt know that i forgot to disable sleep mode...so i wake the rig up and my drive is gone.....i run my disk and i rebult the MBR etc and i get it back as a currupted partition so i do some scans and my MFT and their respective mirrors are F@#$
  6. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Ouch, sounds nasty. I shagged mine by having a dual boot config over two drives, and setting the pagefile of my Vista on the XP disc, which didn't work, LOL. Yours sounds very complicated, good luck!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page