1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Recent Asus Motherboards and Bulldozer

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by stinger608, May 1, 2011.

  1. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,352 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,881
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Some great news for everyone that has purchased the newer Asus motherboards. It looks like they will support the new AM3+ Bulldozer processors with a bios upgrade.

    The bios is currently in the beta form, however I would imagine that it will be an official release at the release time for the Bulldozer.

    http://event.asus.com/2011/mb/AM3_PLUS_Ready/
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  2. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    you'll still need a new chipset for SLI so i think this gen its worth buying a new board
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,898 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    No you don't. With the SLi patch that you can find here: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60844

    It works exactly the same as if it was a SLi board.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  4. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    why does it say **NOTE: THESE DRIVERS DON'T WORK. THEY WERE AN UNSUCCESSFUL ATTEMPT. THREAD ONLY PRESERVED FOR ARCHIVE PURPROSES** then
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,898 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306


    [​IMG]


    Read the rest of the thread, the OP hasn't been updated for a year and they guy made his own website. I even did it with two 460's on my Crosshair IV. Easy to do, not a single problem.

    This is the only link you need for it: http://www.slipatch.com/about/
     
    stinger608 and cheesy999 say thanks.
  6. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,352 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,881
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Yep, I had two GTX260's in SLi on my crosshair IV as well. worked like a champ.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page