1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Recommend A Decent Internal SSD?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Lazermonkey, Mar 20, 2013.

  1. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    I am looking to install an SSD on my new system build, and am curious as to what a decent SSD is without breaking the bank?

    128GB will suffice, also nothing over $125-150 at the most.

    Also. Are they easy to get up and running? as in, plug and play and load my new copy of windows?

    The Motherboard this will be connected to is an MSI 970A-G43.. if that helps?

    Thank for any and all answers/recommendations.
     
  2. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,205 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Good choices are the Samsung 840, Kingston SSDNow! V300 and the Crucial M4. Please not that the latter has relatively low write speeds, but has overprovisioning ("reserve" memory chips) if I remember correctly. There is a "database" of SSD reviews here: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=150954
    They are easy to get up and running, as long as you set it on AHCI in the BIOS. Also, preferrably reinstall Windows so that it gets configured as SSD-friendly as possible (it won't hurt though, to check whether defragmentation and MSDOS-style filenames, as well as system restore are turned off).
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2013
    Lazermonkey says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Okay so as long as I set the system to AHCI in my Bios. It should boot and let me install my new copy of windows?

    Also, thank you for the quick response. You are good folks here and help out a lot.
     
  4. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,205 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    You should be fine indeed.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    You must install the SSD in a working computer first. Format it and everything to make it a drive the computer will recognize. Update firmware if necessary because you cannot update it as a primary drive.

    Now you can do a fresh install of windows without problems.

    Yes, you must set BIOS to AHCI for SSD to work correctly.
     
  6. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,825 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    I vote Samsung 840 Pro or the 840, they are great quality.
     
  7. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,205 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    The Windows installer has a formatting/partitioning tool built-in.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    816 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    246
    It's best to unplug all other drives when doing a fresh install of Windows, so it doesn't install the recovery partition on them or set other partitions as active.
     
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Yes this is what I did prior to installing windows.
     
  10. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    How about the Samsung 830?

    I saw a good deal on a 256GB and it seemed to get good reviews.

    Would be nice to hear what you guys have to say abut the 830 series.

    Thanks again for all of your helpful information :)
     
  11. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,971 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,012
    Location:
    Oregon
    I really like the Samsung Magician software that comes with the SSD I bought. It will test and automticly set the drive up for what ever you want it to do. Very nice touch. No guessing with what to turn on and off. I bought the Samsung 840 250Gb and got it for $135 on sale
     
    Lazermonkey says thanks.
  12. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Which series did you buy?
     
  13. ruff0r

    ruff0r

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    read carefully.
     
    Lazermonkey says thanks.
  14. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    doh!
     
  15. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I have had no issues with my Samsung 128Gb 830 SSD.
    It is primarily just an OS drive.
    Stays around 43GB of space on average with Far Cry 3 installed.
     
  16. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Nice.

    I have a 2TB WD Green to use as a storage device.

    I am looking to do something similar. The OS and maybe a couple of games on the SSD.
     
  17. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    If you are planning on using the SSD as a games drive as well, I would suggest a larger capacity SSD.

    I mainly use my 1TB WD Black as the games and other programs drive with my 2TB Green as a media/storage drive.

    I have to agree with the people who mentioned Samsung Magician Software being great.
    While Windows 7 is supposed to setup it's services to cater for SSDs automatically, it appears it does not always do so.
    In my case Samsung magician reported certain services which were meant to be turned off, as still active.
     
  18. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Probably something along the lines of a 250-256GB... is what I am thinking?

    I will have my Steam acct. and a couple of games on the SSD. Nothing too major.

    The WD Green will be for basic storage.
     
  19. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    256GB should be sufficient.
    None the less games still should run fine on the Green drive, just in between load times maybe slower.
     
    Lazermonkey says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page