1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Recommend me a Sound card

Discussion in 'Audio, Video & Home Theater' started by MxPhenom 216, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I am looking at possibly getting a sound card soon. Thought id get some insight from you guys. Im looking for one that does not need a external power source and either PCI or PCIe, but preferably PCIe


    Ive been looking at the Creative X-fi Titanium Professional card for a while
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,931 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    I don't know of any sound cards that require an external power source, the X-Fi is very good, but I would wait for the Recon3D to come out in a few weeks, it'll have more features than the X-Fi :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    for how much??
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,192 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,204
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Recon3D ? It will be a Sound Core3D. A quad core APU. I'm looking forward to it, though i really wonder what they'll stuff into it that will require 4 processing cores of the current X-Fi which already has the most powerful sound processor available.
     
  5. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,931 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Prices are going to a bit higher to the current X-Fi models to be replaced, I would expect to pay around 129~149 for the basic PCIe model, there's a USB version coming out in a few weeks that can be preordered at Amazon for $129.

    EDIT:

    As far as I know, the quad core processor is called Sound Core3D, and the cards will be called the Recon3D series:

    http://forums.legitreviews.com/about36587.html

    BTW, the USB model comes out this month, and the PCIe cards come in Q1 2012, so you may want to wait a few months ;)
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    how is the normal titanium vs the shielded titanium professional? there are some cheap titaniums on ebay
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,931 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    They should both offer the same functionality, I have the shielded version, and I believe the only difference is it has 64MBs of RAM, whereas the unshielded version only has 4MBs if I'm not mistaken, not that many games use your sound card's onboard RAM anyways...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    are the drivers better now??
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,931 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Haven't had any problems with the drivers myself, there are some horror stories out there, but in my personal experience, it's been a pretty solid driver package.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    i was looking at the xonar dx but i really dont want to have to hook up a power cable to it
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Play3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    i swear by the Xonar Essense ST which is what i have. if you need pci-e then get the STX.
     
  12. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    875 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
  13. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,931 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    That's weird, I didn't know that card required external power :wtf: Do you need to use a floppy connector for it?

    Does that card have an optical out?

    BTW, Amazon just updated the status of the USB Recon3D to available to order:

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005FKT70O/?tag=tec06d-20

    Just ordered mine a few minutes ago :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,931 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Yes, you may need that adapter, not many new PSUs have floppy connectors anymore :p

    Are you going to use this card for gaming or for a home theater?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    gaming and to listen to music.

    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B005L919LY/?tag=tec06d-20

    if get that and sleeve it black
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. 15th Warlock

    15th Warlock

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,931 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,487
    Location:
    Visalia, CA
    Nice :) haven't had any experience with Asus cards, but I've only heard good things about them, let me know how it works ;)
     
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,247 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    608
    No onboard?

    Ever since I got my P5Q Pro, I've seen no point for an add in sound card.

    Yes I have a good ear thanks to my dad who was a sound engineer when I was younger and still did a lot after he stopped doing that for his primary job.

    I've been "lectured" on suttle differences. :laugh:
     
  19. techguy31

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    500 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    If you don't have a receiver I would recommend a HT Claro Plus, but this sound card is not PCIe rather it is PCI. But if you do have a receiver, I highly recommend getting a ATI 5xxxx series and connect it via receiver. If you play want listen to music and watch movies alot then HT Claro Plus is the way to go (it would be better if you use the analog connections as the card has a OPAMP which will enhance the front two channel). I personally have it and have used it with the Logitech z-2300 and it sounds lets say a bit better than the z-5500. In my opinion it's more immersive.
     
    Last edited: Oct 2, 2011
  20. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    theres things that a sound card will allow you to hear that onboard doesnt.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    claro cost to much im looking for under $100
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. satindemon4u

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    875 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    63
    IF you have the speakers to do so. If you have something like built in monitor speakers you wont really notice anything, at all. However, if you have a decent pair of speakers you will.

    I myself have the lowest end of Logitech 5.1's which is the X-530's and I noticed a huge difference! It was like I hadn't heard Call of Duty until I got my card. Which once again, was the Asus Xonar DX.

    Also, I kind of want to say that the card comes with the molex connection cable adapter piece of thingy-ma-bob. I'm pretty sure, almost positive that my PSU didn't have that connection and I have my sound card hooked into a "power source."
     
  23. mastrdrver

    mastrdrver

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,247 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    608
    Maybe I would agree with my old P965 Asus board. Not my P6T6 though. Love BF3 with some 5.1 surround. Here them coming before they see me. :D
     
  24. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,596 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,651
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    get an extremely nice speaker system(not logitechs lol) and a high end sound card then tell me what you think:D


    Guys i am now looking at the HT Omega Striker card because its a bit better from what ive been reading then the Xonar DX and does not require external power connection
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,870 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Wow I didn't know the Xonar DX needed the floppy power :( My Xonar DS doesn't and is basically Xonar DX PCI version

    If you want to go a little cheaper and if you have a free PCI, go ahead with the Xonar DS, else Xonar DX + adapter :p If you want to spend more, go with HT Omega or Auzentech or Prelude or something of the sort.

    What headphones/headset do you have?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page