1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Recommendations on budget laptop for AutoCAD.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by iKhan, Mar 10, 2012.

  1. iKhan

    iKhan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    My sister's brother-in-law needs a laptop for his new job. He's some kind of engineer. I spoke to my sister's husband and he will be using AutoCAD software.

    Looking for a laptop with:

    *An i5 processor
    *4GB - 8GB RAM
    *500GB+ HDD
    *Dedicated GPU that would be good for AutoCAD
     
  2. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    For his kind of work I would avoid 4GBs of ram completely. Use 8 GB as a minimum and shoot for an ideal range of 16GB - 32GB. With ram being so cheap their is no excuse.

    I doubt GPU is going to be a major factor in AutoCAD, it's RAM and CPU heavy.
     
    iKhan says thanks.
  3. iKhan

    iKhan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    So AutoCAD is more about CPU/RAM power, go it. Would a laptop with a quad core Sandy/Ivy Bridge i5 be sufficient?
     
  4. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,158 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    915
    It not being GPU based was a blanket generalisation, I shouldnt of said that, it really depends on the type of AutoCAD being used.

    I would avoid getting a laptop because it will be hard to find one with 8GB+ ready. Finding a lappy with 16GBs can be almost impossible and to upgrade it can have a lot of restrictions. From a financial point of view you'll get a much higher spec'd desktop than laptop for cheaper.

    Generally speaking Ivy Bridge should be fine, the benchmarks I've seen thus far have been really impressive. In this situation I wouldnt dismiss a Bulldozer FX X6 or X8 if the overall rig is considerably cheaper. These types of applications love extra cores.

    PS. Bear in mind, you need an X64 system to use greater than 4GB of ram, and the right version of the OS.
     
    nt300 and iKhan say thanks.
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I would go with the i7 2500K or better and make sure you have tons of RAM! CAD is RAM hungry!
     
    iKhan says thanks.
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,318 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    I use a basic CAD package on my Envy 13 it is fine on that. It depends if he wants some mobility
     
    iKhan says thanks.
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well from the CAD stuff I seen at my friends office he ran the latest and greatest with tons of RAM. He of-course is an architect and drew blue prints up all the time.
     
    iKhan says thanks.
  8. iKhan

    iKhan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Messages:
    209 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    56
    Location:
    Stockton, CA
    Should have mentioned this before, but a desktop wouldn't be feasible. This laptop will be sent to another country.
     
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Get a good i5 or i7 cpu and lots of RAM. That is what I would go with.
     
    iKhan says thanks.
  10. whitrzac New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    366 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Baraboo, WI

    IRRC every DDR3 laptop will support 8gb, some early C2D ones may have issues with mobo limits....


    I know all SB i5s will support 16gb without issue. 2x8gb kits are $130ish on sale. SB i7s will support 32gb.
     
  11. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    If you get a 8GB laptop make sure its upgradable so you can put in more ram if needed. Better yet try and find one with 12GB to 16GB ram for AutoCAD. It sucks back memory a lot.

    Here is one with 8GB but can be upgraded to 16GB later on if you choose. They all seem very pricy. For AutoCAD you will want a 17" screen or larger imo.
    Acer Aspire AS7750G-9823 Notebook Intel Core i7..........
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16834215267

    16GB of fast DDR3-1600 for $159
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233265

    The DDR3-1066 costs about $139 so the extra $20 is well worth the extra ram speed. I dont recommend 1066.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page