1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

recommended psu wattage

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by fritoking, Jan 6, 2009.

  1. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    610 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    ok ... think im in need of a new psu...what wattage do you recommend for a 95 watt phenom quad,two dvdrws,radeon 2600xt 512mb,2 320 gb sata hds,2x1 gb pc2 6400 and 2x2gb pc2 6400 on a 780g mb ?
     
  2. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,088 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,959 (12.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,383
  4. fritoking

    fritoking

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    610 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    ohio
    wow.. i thought more wattage...i have a 400 watt now, and sometimes if the pc is off...like cold..it takes a ton of time to get it running....like turning it on and off repeatedly untill eventually ig will boot up...maybe some other issue?
     
  5. SK-1

    SK-1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    3,226 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    In a Galaxy Far Far...you know the rest.
    Sounds like a PSU going south, time for a new one soon.
     
  6. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
  7. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    If you intend to overclock I would get a 500w for that system. You should be able to get away with a 400w w/ overclocking, but I always like to have a little extra
     
  8. Altered

    Altered

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    909 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    129
  9. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,777 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
    an antec earthwatts 500 should be enough
     
  10. beesagtig

    beesagtig New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    237 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
  11. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    hx520
     
  12. Flyordie

    Flyordie New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,870 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    See specs...
    110W Toledo JH-E6 HD4850...
    All run by an Antec Earthwatts 380W.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page