1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Recommended video card? |Replacing i3 550 integrated graphics| |Dell 0C2KJT A00 mobo|

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by StealthInc, May 22, 2013.

  1. StealthInc New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I need a video card for gaming basically. On average with lowest settings, I can run Minecraft for about 20-35 FPS, Planetside 2 for 2-4 FPS, Runescape for 25 FPS, ARMA 2 Day Z for 3-6 FPS, and SWTOR on 10 FPS, just to name a few examples. I have an Inspiron 580 model (not the 580s which is the slim model) with a quad-core i3 550 CPU... It's probably the best i3 CPU with 3.2 GHz. I have checked extensively, and it beats everything else compatible with my CPU socket but has integrated graphics and I would like to upgrade to a separate video card. The motherboard is a Dell 0C2KJT A00. I know that the motherboard has 2 PCI express X1 slots, one PCI express X16 (2.0) and one PCI slot. However, I don't know what the PSU is, and there is no sticker on the power supply. If it helps, CPU-Z says the processor's core voltage is 2.016. The PSU has never been changed in this computer, it is factory stock. I can't seem to find anything about this computer anywhere on Google, even the Dell website has nothing on it, the only exception being an out-of-stock sale on Walmart which gave no detail whatsoever. I did, however, find the motherboard specs here. I have CPU-Z if anyone needs extra information. Thank you!
     
  2. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    If you are on a budget, what is the resolution you play at?
     
  3. StealthInc New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    1600X900 resolution
     
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,175
    Power supply is most likely the 300W version. Does it have any spare PCI-E power cables coming out of it?
     
  5. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    An HD7850 or GTX650 will do the job well.
    Still will have to get the PSU ID so we know how much head room it currently has but either car is not power hungry.
     
  6. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,607 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Rochester area
    you will need to change that PSU as well
    something in the 120 to 150 range should be good enough
     
  7. StealthInc New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    All of the cables are connected to something, no spares
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,175
    Well, what's your budget?
     
  9. StealthInc New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    $50 - $200
     
  10. StealthInc New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    120 - 150 what? I am a computer noob, do you mean watts?
     
  11. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,607 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Rochester area
    price range
     
  12. LagunaX

    LagunaX

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,072 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    303
    Gtx 660 is a good sub $200 bang for the buck.
     
  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,175
    StealthInc says thanks.
  14. StealthInc New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Do you know how much power it uses?
     
  15. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,607 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Rochester area
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,607 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Rochester area
    you aren't gonna be running any VideoCards without changing the psu(at least not anything worth spending money on)

    a 660ti will draw someware around 130W from the psu
    the 650ti will draw about 100W
     
    StealthInc says thanks.
  17. StealthInc New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm not sure about the PSU, especially since I have no idea how they work or how much power the one I already have supplies, and i would probably make something explode trying to install one. After a quick search, the 3.0 PSIEs are backwards compatible and I could most likely use that model in my computer, the only potential problem being the power supply of course.
     
  18. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,607 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,064
    Location:
    Rochester area
    you need to read up on the subject then else you will end up breaking something
    changing a psu is plug n play(there all universal) if you aren't ready for that then you have more reading todo
     
  19. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,795 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,175
    Your Inspiron model usually comes with a 300W PSU not designed for any kind of upgrades. Installing a PSU isn't too bad. It's just involves removing the cable connectors and replacing with the new ones. There's a ton of guides on the net for doing it. https://www.google.com/search?q=How...0.57j0l3j62l2.3879j0&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

    I'm sure though that it is possible to get a lower power video card that doesn't require an external connector, but you probably won't be very satisfied with it.
     
  20. red_stapler

    red_stapler

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    96 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    7750 would work.
     
    Jetster says thanks.
  21. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,618 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
  22. Black.Raven

    Black.Raven

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    199 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    79
    If you want to spare some bucks, a gtx650 does perform good enough for average settings.

    eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Pro says you need 263 watt for your i3+a GTX650. so it would be at the roof. now i dont know how good you can trust these sites? anyone experience with this?

    Just to be safe, buy a new power supply
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2013
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. ne6togadno

    ne6togadno

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,358 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    599
    Location:
    GMT +2
    before you buy new psu remove old one and measure it (LxHxW) and check distacne between fixing screws. check if new psu will fit in those dimensions. oem companies often use nonstandart size components so you can buy spareparts only from them.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page