1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Record gaming footage HDD-HSD vs SSD

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Belzer, Nov 4, 2013.

  1. Belzer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    38 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden
    Short question: what's better for recording bf4 footage? Running the game from a HDD and record to another HDD (e.g 3TB Barracuda, 180MB write speed) or run, and record, the game from a SSD? I will be recording at 60fps, 1680x1050/1920x1080, using fraps.
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,308 (7.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,758
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Run game on a seperate disk, regardless of type, and record to a seperate disk. Ideal scenario:
    SSD1 for OS
    SSD2orHDD2 for games
    HDD3 for recordings
  3. OC-Rage

    OC-Rage

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Messages:
    84 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    good job R Coon

    yes ssd 1 only for OS
    i think SSD 2 for games is better if you have it
    SSD good speed for games fast loading and performance
    HDD for filmes*Music*and programs very good
  4. Belzer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    38 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden
    Is there really any point in running the OS on a SSD? I'm fine with the speed and startups from my HDD when it comes to the OS. Why do I want to run the game from a separate SSD and then record to another one? Is there any performance difference compared to running both the game and recording to the same SSD?
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    doesnt matter with current gen HDDs. i get around 190mbps peak write

    Also try using bandi cam, you can automatically encode video as u record, hence lowering size to sane amounts!
    i have stopped using FRAPS after i found bandicam. much better, and less resource drawing.
  6. Belzer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    38 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden
    Isn't encoding on the fly very CPU intensive?
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,899
    It can be. I much prefer just to use FRAPS and Handbrake as I have at least a little more control over the quality of the video.

    Due to the size of the raw files, it's probably best to go with a separate large HDD for recording. As long as you're using a separate drive, performance shouldn't be an issue when using other modern hardware with it.
  8. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    725 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    If you want to record uncompressed raw footage go with a good SSD like a Samsung EVO. Get the biggest you can afford it will make a huge difference since raw footage used a lot less CPU power and hits the southbridge/storage device hard. Hard drive have decent write speeds when empty but even with a 64MB cache struggle when recording 3-5 GB a minute. I run a SSd for my OS another for games and a samsung 250GB for recording which constantly holds down 240MB/s all day.
  9. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,899
    At what FPS do you record? I've stuck to 30 fps for some time now, but I'm wondering if I were to switch to 60 fps I'd need faster storage?
    Flibolito says thanks.
  10. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,332 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    458
    Drive write efficiency during gaming capture, esp at high res in games that are high resource use, is crucial to getting stable frame rates. This is why I prefer DxTory, because it can use multiple drives to strip the file in parts and write them simultaneously.

    Fraps has evolved slightly to try to stay in step, but even it's default option to leave framerates unlocked is not what many think it is. It only avoids locking to received frames. Some have implied due to this setting Fraps can record at say 30 FPS while allowing the game to play at 60 FPS or higher, but this is not generally the case.


    "Contrary to what the name of this setting implies, this does not lock the frame rate to the actual recording rate specified. This setting locks your frame rate to the actual rate of received frames. For example, if you have your game set to record at 30 fps and during a system intensive moment Fraps only receives 15 of those 30 frames, your frame rate within the game would drop to 15 fps."

    http://www.ehow.com/how_12195700_use-fraps-loss-fps.html

    What this means is you can set Fraps to avoid framerates below the capture FPS setting you select, but it won't let the game play at it's true unbridled FPS like DxTory can. I guess a more accurate word for game capture framerate limitation would be hindrance, vs lag. Many are used to thinking capture lag means framerates below your capture setting. Those with high end systems compromise by setting FPS to 60 and put up with huge capture files and long editing sessions. The best scenario is being able to record at 30 FPS, which is fine for video playback, while being able to play at the game's full framerate.

    I've captured Metro 2033 at 720p with a mere GTS 250 with plenty playable framerates and max texture detail. I always use 30 FPS, and in Dead Island I was getting 100-120 FPS in game while recording. With my current 7970 there is no game I can't easily record at 1080p, and I still use just 30 FPS capture rate.
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2013
    Flibolito says thanks.
  11. Belzer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    38 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden
    I've set my mind on a Samsung 840 Evo 120gb, thanks for the answers, helped a lot!
  12. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    well, i have a quad core phenom and i havent felt the difference, if you dont want encoding you can set the quality to 100%

    bandicam also has preset modes like youtube video, etc etc.
    A LOT better than fraps imo.
  13. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,252 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,409
    The game I play and would want to record needs every bit of cpu it can get.

    To OP, you will be fine recording to a second drive.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    725 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    I do 30fps which is fine for youtube but 60 is much smoother but unusable for uploading in my opinion. I record @1080 off my 1440p which hits the cpu a little but sometime i record at 1440p/30fps and the storage is very helpful on SSD. wonder how the SSD would keep up during 1440p/60fps. There might be serious bottlenecks without a raidcard I guess.

    A Youtube sample (I compress using sony vegas and then youtube compresses even further. The vegas content looks very close raw but youtube destroys quality).

    Battlefield 4: McRib tearing it up and EPIC Sabtri...


    2 ways to record

    1: Compress on the fly to a lower bitrate needs Fast RAM/Crazy CPU with OC and will still lag in some game but can get but on weak storage

    2: Record raw and use a strong HDD RAID 0,10 so on or a SSD maybe 2. This is easier on CPU and other processors.

    and a 3rd and blend of the two methods but can be tricky

    DxTory can record to different devices without raid as well so you can use 2 or more non-raided drives and split the stream up.
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2013
  15. Eroticus

    Eroticus

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    241 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    65
    Location:
    Israel
    1SSD Games / OS - Enough (if you have 1TB)
    HDD - Porn ~.~
  16. Jub New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    try this

    I've tried all ways..game on ssd while recording on another ssd..recording on a hdd. Raid0 ssd's with game on a third But the one that caused least system hogging was the recording to external usb 3.0 drive. Find no hits whatsoever with it. Was using fraps at that time and recording full quality. Found out 18 months later that's the same way Frankie records his Dayz videos for youtube. Try it if you have a usb 3 drive or can borrow one to try out.
  17. Flibolito

    Flibolito

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    725 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    USB3 recording is viable. The caching helps a ton and the fact it offloads to the USB controller frees up some system resources. My seagate 3TB externals are wicked fast and were only $100, such a good deal I keep footage and finished work on them and sometimes even work directly off them.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page