1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

red CPU led

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by iNgsane, Nov 25, 2012.

  1. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Connect the motherboard speaker(beeper), remove the RAM and boot up. See if you hear a series of beeps. If yes- Your CPU and mobo is fine. I don't trust CPU LED. Also try resetting the CMOS via the jumper and also the battery-remove and remount everything from scratch final.
     
  2. iNgsane New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i've already reset cmos, made no diference and the battery seems to be unaccessable on this mb :(
     
  3. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    out of interest, are all the fans running on the psu, cpu etc?

    If so, what brand/wattage PSU you running? and what other components do you have installed besides the mobo, chip & ram.... it could be that your power supply isnt up to powering it all.
    (If its a multi rail psu you may have everything running off one rail and the psu cant cope)
     
  4. iNgsane New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    its a corsair tx850m
     
  5. twicksisted

    twicksisted

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,436 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    350
    aaah ok scratch that suggestion then :D
     
  6. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    434 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    306
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Do you not see anything at all on screen?
    for now i could only suggest you that you take out the cmos battery for at least 5min and to take out the cpu check pins and reseat it, if that doesn't fix the issue you might have done something during the move that resulted in this issue
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. iNgsane New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nothing shows onscreen "no signal detected" i've already reseated the cpu, no diference. would it be safe to assume that its the MB thats broke? Should i buy a new one?
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Red CPU LED on my Crosshair V Formula as well ended up just shipping it off to Asus tried multiple CPU's, ram, VGA's etc. Hopefully yours is something simpler than that. I have one off my Xeon X3440, but it is an LGA1156 cooler so I do not know if it will fit. Assuming you are CONUS you can have it for whatever shipping is.
     
  9. iNgsane New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    update guys, upon further close inspection of the motherboard, about half of the system panel connector(where you connect the power, restart, etc..case cables) has a brownish color, seems burnt and the restart button does not work, could this be the reason?
     
  10. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Can you post a picture of the area?
     
  11. iNgsane New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    14 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i'll try
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page