1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

redhat linux installation

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by infrared, Jan 24, 2006.

  1. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Hi,

    I just spend a few hours downloading 4 big iso's for a redhat based os, but i can't figure out how to install it :nutkick:

    I'm using VMWare to try it, and Alcohol 120% to mount the iso's.

    My problem is it won't boot from the disks :wtf:


    Also, can anyone direct me to their favourite linux OS? I'm kinda lost! :D Soo many versions! :D
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    i like fedora a lot (redhat based)

    the first cd should be able to boot

    do you have an old vmware version? i remember one having a bug where you couldnt boot off cds
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,065 (5.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    Florida
    Suse 10
  4. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    I like Debian, Fedora Core and Ubuntu/Kubuntu, and FreeBSD (even it's not Linux). Debian is kinda out-dated, but stable. But FreeBSD felt to fit best for my hardware..

    Debian, Ubuntu/Kubuntu and FreeBSD have text-based installations, so they might not be the easiest. Fedora Cores have fine, GUI-based installations.
  5. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Thanks everyone.

    Yep, it's fedora i downloaded (it's huge!!! :eek: )

    It's VMWare 5 that i'm using, i'll go and hunt for a newer version anyway.

    If i set fedora up in a dual boot config, is there any way i can get it to load xp as a default?
  6. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio

    5.5 is the latest version.

    In order to boot to the cd, check the vmware virtual machine boot order, aswell as DOUBLE CHECK the cdrom preferences(in the virtual machine hardware management thingy). Its usually set to auto which would never boot for me, so I just manually set it to my actual (or emulated in this case) drive and it should boot right up.

    GL.
  7. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    ok, i grabbed vmware 5.5, gonna have a play now! Thanks :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page