1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

redhat linux installation

Discussion in 'Linux / BSD / Mac OS X' started by infrared, Jan 24, 2006.

  1. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Hi,

    I just spend a few hours downloading 4 big iso's for a redhat based os, but i can't figure out how to install it :nutkick:

    I'm using VMWare to try it, and Alcohol 120% to mount the iso's.

    My problem is it won't boot from the disks :wtf:


    Also, can anyone direct me to their favourite linux OS? I'm kinda lost! :D Soo many versions! :D
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    16,116 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,537
    i like fedora a lot (redhat based)

    the first cd should be able to boot

    do you have an old vmware version? i remember one having a bug where you couldnt boot off cds
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,272 (4.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,568
    Location:
    Florida
    Suse 10
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. Migons New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    252 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland
    I like Debian, Fedora Core and Ubuntu/Kubuntu, and FreeBSD (even it's not Linux). Debian is kinda out-dated, but stable. But FreeBSD felt to fit best for my hardware..

    Debian, Ubuntu/Kubuntu and FreeBSD have text-based installations, so they might not be the easiest. Fedora Cores have fine, GUI-based installations.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Thanks everyone.

    Yep, it's fedora i downloaded (it's huge!!! :eek: )

    It's VMWare 5 that i'm using, i'll go and hunt for a newer version anyway.

    If i set fedora up in a dual boot config, is there any way i can get it to load xp as a default?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,155 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS

    5.5 is the latest version.

    In order to boot to the cd, check the vmware virtual machine boot order, aswell as DOUBLE CHECK the cdrom preferences(in the virtual machine hardware management thingy). Its usually set to auto which would never boot for me, so I just manually set it to my actual (or emulated in this case) drive and it should boot right up.

    GL.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    ok, i grabbed vmware 5.5, gonna have a play now! Thanks :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)