1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

reduce used physical memory

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by gomjabar, Sep 21, 2007.

  1. gomjabar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I think I have a bad video memory chip and want to reduce the physical memory used in the video bios from 512 to say 256 so maybe ill bypass the bad chip. Anyone know of a way to do this with a bios editor or manually?
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,145 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,649
    what video card we talking about here?
  3. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
  4. gomjabar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    sapphire x1900xt. I couldnt get rabit to make a change in physical memory, its greyed out?
  5. largon New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,778 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Location:
    Tre, Suomi Finland
    Try older versions of RaBit.
    I remember that in some in versions the memory size selection was not grayed out.

    OR

    Flash the card with a bios dumped from a X1900XT 256MB.
  6. gomjabar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thanks, didnt fix my texture errors but those suggestions worked atleast to try it.
  7. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,913 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Perhaps the core is shot... if you're using PCI-E I reccomend picking up a HD 2600XT GDDR4 of if you have a lot of money a HD 2900XT, or even an 8800GTS if you are willing to switch to Nvidia.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. gomjabar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yup ive already been looking at those video cards. I may wait till a good game comes along like conan or warhammer and maybe a new line of cards will be out then.
  9. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    err... HD2600XT? Um, no. X1950PRO, HD2900XT OR 8800GTS.
  10. xnox202

    xnox202 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    276 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brunei Darussalam
    I don't quite see much why HD2600 XT would be quite bad for gaming, it trials the X1950 PRO (the X1950 is better). The margin widens on high-res for the X1950 PRO.
  11. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,913 (5.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,063
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, um... why reccomend a DX9 card? HD2900XT or 8800GTS makes sense though, but the 2600XT GDDR4 is nothing to laugh at.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. banditboogie New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    while you are at it, try lowering the mem clock a bit, and increase voltage to the card. maybe you can get some additional mileage on the card. and if you are playing with rabit, you can try adjusting the mem timings as well (its a slim chance, but better than nathan)
  13. gomjabar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ive played around with raising the timing, but only cas latency. And any change results in corruption on the screen when I load it. Do all the timings have to have a ratio to function correctly?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page