1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Reducing dust intake from bottom intake PSU fan

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by theubersmurf, Nov 30, 2012.

  1. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    So the title says it, but I'll clarify if it's unclear. I'm trying to find a way to reduce the amount of dust taken in by my new bottom intake PSU fan. Right now it's over a rug, which I know is full of dust (because carpets get dusty, not because I don't clean) I'm worried about a dust filter reducing airflow, so I'm a little reticent to do that, though that may be the option to use.

    I thought about putting it on a hard surface to reduce the amount of dust, but that feels like I'm not going to do much other than slow the process.

    Any good suggestions?
  2. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,190 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    You can start by taking your pc off the rug for starters.
  3. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    This apartment has no other option really
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,586 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,282
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    dont put your pc on carpet or like that coz they would catch dust faster
    and air filter would reduce airflow, just little bit but it would be ok
    dust on heatsink would reduce heat escape too, i prefer using air filter
  5. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
    Couple of ideas:

    1) Vacuum the carpets
    2) Put the computer on top of something, direct contact with a dusty rug is asking for a dead psu in six months
    3) Use a humidifier next to the intake
    4) Put a dust filter on, they're like $15 online(link)
  6. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    I put in on something. But I have to come up with a permanent solution.

    I think it's going to be dust filters and some kind of platform that I build for my tower.
  7. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,359 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,561
    Flip the psu over so it draws filtered air from inside the case.... just be careful not to drop screws in it when working on the rig.
    Jetster says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    The problem with that is that isn't dust going to settle through the grate?
  9. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,359 (8.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18,561
    If the inside of the case doesn't really have a dust problem then the psu won't either... decent Intake filters are the key.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,474 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    I think you worry too much...
    This thing looked like a small animal lived in it, and I think the PSU is still running to this day;)
    [​IMG]
  11. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,475 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,103
  12. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,474 (7.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,987
    I'm pretty sure there wasn't any air going through that PSU, and last I checked fire needs oxygen to burn:roll:
  13. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,298 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,538
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    No matter what you do; you are going to have dust.
    And, you will have to clean out sooner or later, no matter what you do.

    Filters are your best option, IMO; but, you will have to compensate for the reduced airflow.
    I, personally, use a mesh filter system... sort of, like, women's nylons/stockings.

    Get the computer off the floor, if possible.

    If you do use a humidifier, do not put it so it directly exhausts onto the computer. You will get the same benefit from any location in the same room.

    Try to eliminate the major sources of dust, if possible.
    As an example... paper products (toilet paper, paper towels, tissues, etc.) are one of the larger contributors of dust.

    Make sure your heating and/or air conditioning system filters are adequate.
    Try an air filtration system for your room. Not one of the ionizer types alone, but a true hepa filtration type.

    Get a Roomba, or the like, and let it clean your room on a daily schedule.

    Keep pets out of the area.
  14. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    870 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    101
    Location:
    Dawn
    Pretty awesome, kinda belongs in the the stinking, rotten helpdesk nightmare thread (or whatever the title is).
  15. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,686 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,838
    Location:
    Oregon
    Not that you can do this . But I moved from a house with carpet to a house with hard wood floors and it eliminated the dust all together. I went to clean the PC about 6 months later and nothing.
  16. Frag Maniac

    Frag Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,359 (1.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    471
    I have a carpeted apt and put my rather large PC tower on the floor beside my desk, but I place it on an oak veneer shelf board that came with a rail wall mounting kit. The board is 8"x24"x3/4" and is the perfect size for it. It's got some coats of clear polyurethane on it, and vaguely matches the color of my carpet.

    I also have a small air filter which I run daily for half an hour to an hour, mainly to use the ionizer on it. An ionizer negatively charges the air particles, and then causes particles in the air to settle to the floor. Effectiveness and duration depends on size of room, but don't leave one on too long, they can start to create an artificial "smog" effect.

    My Antec DF-85 case doesn't have bottom vents though. Antec tends to stay away from that design, preferring less dusty front to back airflow. You could however block your bottom vents and/or invert your PSU, but that would also increase negative air pressure, which can also suck in dust.

    I would advise just trying the board underneath for now and maybe add as many intake fans as you can. BTW, my case is filtered on all intakes and still has quite good airflow. Not all cases are created equal in this regard.

    There are also some aftermarket filters that have pretty good airflow and are durable and easy to clean, with aluminum mesh dome screens. They are called ModRight.
    http://www.frozencpu.com/products/2...terRight_120mm_Black_Aluminum_Fan_Filter.html
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2012
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Keep the PC turned off!


    [​IMG]
  18. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,731 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,635
    Location:
    US
  19. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,346 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Oh good lord... dust filters. It should be mandatory that all cases come with them. I'm forever cleaning out friends and client cases of caked up dust because they have no filters. I clean mine once a month, and the inside of my case is nearly pristine. They can't get everything of course, but it's a giant help.
  20. Atomic77 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Messages:
    63 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Bend, Wisconsin
    My computer tower sits directly on a maple floor in my room. its like 4 years old now and has been in alot of carpeted houses since I had it. it does get some dust but thats expected. we have 2 dogs and a cat that comes around.
  21. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Vacuuming regularly causes PCs to gather dust a lot more.

    a plank of wood big enough for your desktop to rest on instead of the carpet will help along with dust filters.
  22. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,504 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    1. use a mdf board below the CPU
    2. use filters, PSUs have very little air intake, so air filters wont be a problem
    3. plus dust will cause more problems than lack of airflow :)
  23. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    527 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    If you Have a Flooring Store, or a Home Depot, or lowes , around where you live , you Could buy a Single plank of Laminate Wood flooring , Like pergo , or the like. That would be Easy to cut if needed and it Would be the same as the PC sitting on a Hardwood floor, as far as the underneath is concerned. It work's Fine, I've done it before. Plus it would last forever.They are about the Width of a Standard Mid tower anyway , so you would just need to Stick it under there. Good Luck. Also the pantyhose Idea is a Viable solution as well , when your in a pinch.
  24. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,020 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    489
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Since I'm not a girl I don't have pantyhose lying around.....:p

    But dryer sheets work as well.
  25. lZKoce

    lZKoce

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    565 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    I think you shouldn't worry that much. After all you don't live in a sawmill, it's a regular apartment. Regardless of whether you have possitve or negatvie with intake holes pressure, e.g there is at least one fan moving the air inside the case, the dust won't settle.
    I just realized, you said bottom mounted PSU, so it doesn't really take part in the cooling process. May be flip it, so that it sucks air from the inside of the case>? Or most probably leave it like that and clean it every 6 months or so carefully.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page