1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Reference HD 5750 BIOS?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Cheeseball, Oct 29, 2009.

  1. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    705 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Hello, :toast:

    I'd like to ask if anybody has made a backup of their reference Radeon HD 5750 (e.g. the egg-shaped cooler, black PCB). And if so, may I ask for a copy?

    I'd like to try and flash the reference BIOS to my PowerColor HD 5750 (stock cooler is a Artic Cooling L7 on a red PCB) in hopes of getting PowerPlay to properly work. Currently, with the stock PowerColor BIOS, PowerPlay only reduces my core and memory clocks down to 400/1150 from 700/1150, which I know is not much at all. AFAIK, I believe it should clock down to around 133/300 or such, but correct me if I'm wrong.

    Also, is it possible to control the fan (through RivaTuner, Afterburner, etc.) on the reference HD 5750? On my PowerColor, it's not possible as it stays stuck at 40% all the time. It's probably a limitation of the L7 itself.

    Thanks in advance.

    EDIT: BTW, I already have the Sapphire BIOS I got in TPU's VGA BIOS collection, but I'd like a BIOS from a true reference card (e.g. egg cooler shroud, black PCB).
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2009
  2. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    705 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    No one has dumped their reference HD 5750 BIOS yet? :wtf:
     
  3. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,268 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    467
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    the card isn't popular yet so i doubt many people has made there purchase for the 5750 just be patient and wait.
    Why do you need use powerplay for desktop anyway? you want use full power for amazing performance =p
    If your worried about your PSU then i would consider getting an corsair 400W or something
     
  4. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    705 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    I need PowerPlay for when I'm not doing anything related to 3D on the comptuer. :p Yes, I'd like full power and performance when I'm playing games or rigging. My PSU is just fine as I was running a GTX 280 before.
     
  5. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    705 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Okay guys, I have an update. I tried flashing the Sapphire BIOS and PowerPlay does indeed work! I'm now idling at 157/300 with my GPU temperature down at 44C. 2 problems though:

    1. I definitely found out that the fan cannot be controlled through software/CCC. Damn Artic Cooling for making an awesome fan that cannot be controlled!

    2. Because of the new BIOS, I can only overclock to a max of 750/1200, whereas stock is 700/1150, a total of 50MHz for both core/memory. :p On the old PowerColor BIOS, I can go 900/1300+ or around that.

    So because of reason number 2, I'm still requesting for anyone who has a reference HD 5750 to please send me or post their BIOSes so that I may be able to find the best for clocking and PowerPlay.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2009
  6. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    705 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Argh, I spoke too soon. While using the Sapphire BIOS, my computer just freezes up for a few seconds, then restarts and the BIOS tells me that I have an error with the HyperTransport bus. :p Returning back to the PowerColor BIOS fixes it.
     
  7. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    705 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Guys, I can't troubleshoot this issue any further. I decided to sell the card and get a HD 5770 as I want to play with the voltage. :p Thanks anyways.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page