1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Regaining SSD performance

Discussion in 'Storage' started by random, Jul 18, 2011.

  1. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Hey guys,

    I've researched on this particular topic for a while now as I have experienced some performance degradation on my SSDs. I am wondering since I have TRIM as to whether formatting my SSDs and recreating my RAID stripe would affect anything in regards to restoring the degraded performance from my SDD. I am aware of ways to do this such as Secure erasing etc. although most of the threads I've read using this method were very out dated so if anyone could point me to the right direction I will be very greatful :respect:
  2. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Hi,

    Historically, TRIM never worked in RAID setups.
    Now, it can be supported on some Intel systems (only with recent driver).
    If you're unaware of this, then it's the reason... no TRIM.


    Also, depending on which OWC SSD you've got, you may upgrade its firmware:
    http://eshop.macsales.com/owcpages/sf_firmware.html
    Cheers,
    random says thanks.
  3. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    on a normal ssd, single drive, with trim, under windows 7, formatting a partition sends a trim for all its sectors. removing/creating partitions does not trim.
    random says thanks.
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,287 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    The Intel driver will pass the Trim command to non-raided ssds; however, as AFAIK, the raided drives will not be trimmed.

    What features are supported on each I/O controller hub (ICH)?

    What are the advantages of TRIM and how can I use it with my SSD?

    If you have different info from Intel, link please.

    At one time, in 2010, there was some mis-communication that raided drives were supported, however they later corrected the info.


    However, OCZ has implemented their own rendition of trim in the newer devices, such as the OCZ Z-Drive R3 p84 PCI-Express SSD, using VCA (Virtualized Controller Architecture™)
    And, I had seen a rumor on a blog page, that, Marvell was working on RAID with Trim support. But, have not heard or seen any updates or hard facts.

    Now, most newer ssds have their own built in GC (garbage collection algorithms/routines) independent from trim and helps take up the slack.

    @OP> If your ssds are degraded, yes, you may/might improve the performance by setting them back to the original state (not 0x00, but 0xff).

    Links are at the OCZ, not OWC, but, still good info IMO.

    You could use the SE (secure erase) feature that is built in the ssd; if your ssd supports it.
    You can use HDDErase or GUI Linux Secure Erase based on the Parted Magic ISO

    Also, O&O defrag has the ability to run the trim command manually (other software might... but, I have no first hand knowledge of it handy and do not know if raided drives will receive the command).

    Quoted from the O&O Defrag and Solid State Drives whitepaper pdf:

    random says thanks.
  5. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    I may have based my knowledge on outdated sources then...
    I thought that TRIM in raid was possible on Intel... oh, well..


    Coming back to the point (post 1)...
    Random needs to come back and clarify, but I think he/she may have SSDs in raid and believe that TRIM is working for them...

    Cheers,
    random and 95Viper say thanks.
  6. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    That is what I was looking for! Although I just need to find a way to do this in windows :laugh:. Because essentially I'd need to delete my RAID stripe and then format each individual SSD first right?


    Yep I can confirm that SSD are working under TRIM since the report from CMD is showing as follows.

    DisableDeleteNotify = 0 (Windows TRIM commands are enabled)

    This command doesn't really confirm anything but I was under the assumption that TRIM does work now RAID systems, but based on the link 95Viper posted, it is not. So would it be wise to delete my RAID stripe and just start using my SSD's as individual drives?
    Last edited: Jul 19, 2011
  7. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,041 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    just to bump and update, I manage to delete my raid stripes and HDDerase both drives.. So for now I'm assuming my SSD's are back to full speed.
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,425 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    872
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    What about alignment? I once used Paragon Aligment Tool on my HDD (not SSD) with WinXP and CHKDSK decided to truncate all my data after that. Tool itelf detected that stuff wasn't aligned and recommende that so it wasn't my fault. So i'm a bit afraid of using it on SSD as well.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page