1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Replace 955 with 1090T....worth it?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Dos101, Aug 1, 2012.

  1. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    564 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Currently running a 955 @ 3.8GHz, but I have a chance to pick up a 1090T for a decent price. Assuming I can clock it as high as my 955 (if not higher) would having the 2 extra cores be worth it? I mostly play Batman: AC, BF3, GTA4, Skyrim, and Civ V.
  2. Feänor

    Feänor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    512 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Gaming wise, no. Games are more gpu intensive than cpu intensive, at least most of them.

    Overclocking wise, it MIGHT oc a little higher.

    Any cpu intensive task (encoding, winrar) will benefit from the two extra cores.
    Dos101 says thanks.
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,583 (13.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,978
    Sure. The 1090T should have a better memory controller in it as well. You can overclock that a bit and it makes a good difference while gaming.
    Dos101 says thanks.
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,819 (4.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,361
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yes extra cores do not hurt in gaming. Even if it doesn't clock as high there will still be benefits with gaming and the extra cores. I did a comparison a couple months back between my 1055t and my 970t at stock clocks. 2.8 and 3.5 respectfully. The 1055t did better even despite the lower clock speed. Also this site will let you plug in the numbers of your system specs and tell you how well it will do in the game you chose. Plug in the numbers from your 955 and see where it ranks then plug in the numbers from the 1090t and see where it ranks on let say BF3.
    Dos101 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Law-II

    Law-II

    Joined:
    May 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,565 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    641
    Location:
    Mainland Britain
    Dos101 says thanks.
  6. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    564 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Thanks for the replies guys! I'll go ahead and pick it up. :toast:
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
  7. uuuaaaaaa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2011
    Messages:
    176 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    It will clock higher and has more cores. I did a similar upgrade and i feel that it was totally worth it. got my 1100T @ 4Ghz 1.365v ; NB @ 2600Mhz 1.15v
    Dos101 and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
  8. Radical_Edward

    Radical_Edward

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,587 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,927
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    I noticed a big difference in encoding etc. when I upgraded from a X4 945 to a X6 1055T
    Dos101 and ThE_MaD_ShOt say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Dos101

    Dos101

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    564 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    144
    Sweet! I'm picking it up this weekend (assuming the guy doesn't sell it before then). Looking forward to the added performance.

    I don't do much encoding, but I'm actually curious to see how big of a difference it makes.
  10. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,855 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    945
    do it.

    bf3 uses all 6 cores

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page