1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Replace Router or not?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by suraswami, Jun 13, 2013.

  1. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,067 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    My current Wireless router - the popular Linksys WRT54GL.
    Years of Reliable Service - 7+ yrs
    Wireless Range - not the best
    Cost - Free (Got from previous work place, thought the device is broken, but firmware upgrade solved the problem)

    I am currently remodelling the house and Hard wired the entire home. Few devices like Laptops and phones do use wireless. I was thinking of getting a new Wireless router for following reasons:
    1. Gigabit WAN link with Modem (Cox High speed Cable)
    2. Wireless N connection
    3. Better Wireless Range.

    2 and 3 are not that higher priority but with the newer Gigabit interface routers will there be speed difference in internet browsing, gaming, downloading/uploading, youtube etc?

    I don't have any dual-band capable devices so don't know if I should get a dual-band router.

    Is the WRT still better?

    One of the Cheapest and good reviews

    NETGEAR JNR3210-100NAS N300 Wireless Gigabit Route...

    :toast:
  2. ooiman92

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Chicago
    Seems like a good deal, the need for dual band really depends on how congested the 2.4ghz channel is, check how many APs you can see when trying to connect to wifi, if more than, lets say 10, then you should invest in dual band. Good luck :)
    suraswami says thanks.
  3. The Von Matrices

    The Von Matrices

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,165 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    355
    I upgraded from a WRT54GL to an ASUS RT-AC66U and I'm very happy with it. The biggest difference I notice is the routing speed. The WRT54GL can only handle about 50Mbps of traffic on the WAN, and with internet speeds increasing I was hitting its max occasionally. If you just need wireless-N, then you can pick up a cheaper ASUS RT-N66.

    As far as dual band performance goes, the utility of the 5GHz band is really dependent on the location of the access point. 5GHz doesn't penetrate many walls so if you do not place the access point in an open area you can expect no better (or even worse) performance than 2.4GHz. I have a congested 2.4GHz network where I live, but to get full 5GHz coverage of my 1200 square foot apartment with many walls I need two access points.
    suraswami says thanks.
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,698 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,860
    To answer this question directly, no a Gigabit interface will not make your internet any faster. the only exception would be if your internet connection is faster than 100Mbps.

    However, as The Von Matrices point out, the WRT54GL is too slow to handle the routing if your internet connection is faster than about 50Mbps, I'd actually go lower than that and say 25Mbps because that is what mine topped out at. Overclocking it got me to the 35Mbps range, but that was all I could get out of it.

    So I'd definitely look at replacing the router, but a Gigiabit WAN port isn't necessary.

    At this point, I wouldn't look at anything that wasn't Simultaneous Dual-Band. It might not seem necessary to have the 5.0GHz band now, but it is nice to have if you ever get a device that supports it.
    suraswami says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,440 (10.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,995
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    This thread reminds me that I need to start looking for a dual band access point.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,067 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2013
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,067 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Last night I checked the speed and I get 23 down and 17 up. hmm how do I OC a router?
  8. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,698 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,860
    suraswami says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  9. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,067 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I actually have 2 of the same routers, let me check exact version and if it matches I will try it out on one.

    Interesting stuff.
  10. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    795 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Netgear WNDR3700
    suraswami says thanks.
  11. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,721 (4.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,634
    Location:
    US
    Yeah i was getting that with my GL v1.1



    Well as i saaid above i was getting around 50 with my GL but aa few days ago i did a check and was getting around 25 -30 max although i am using a G v3.1 and been meaning to change it just to check if it's down to Comcast or the router.


    Anyways, i been thinking of picking up one of the Newer Netgear routers as we do already use a Netgear extender and has worked nicely with the current setup..

    Only reason i have not picked one up is due to cost lol.
  12. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,613 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    542
    This one (Amped Wireless R20000G) is what I got and the coverage is AWESOME and I barely have to touch it cuz it works so good.

    I was able to stream HD 1080p vids from 200 some ft away!!!
    suraswami says thanks.
  13. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,067 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    793
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Nice review on the router. I will check it out.

    :toast:
    remixedcat says thanks.
  14. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,683 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,835
    Location:
    Oregon
    Just going from G to N is a major upgrade regardless if you need dual band or not
    suraswami says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page