1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

replacing caps on card

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by KainXS, Jul 6, 2010.

  1. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    I am going to replace my old 8800GS with a HD4890 I had stored for a while but the card has a messed up cap and I was wondering if I could replace the old 330uf 16v cap with a cap, I have a crapload of old mobo's and stuff and the closest I could find was one rated at 470uf 16v, and there was also one with 1500uf 16v, which one do you think would be better.
     
  2. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,183 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,667
    keep the voltage the same the farads just determine how much it stores
     
  3. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,458 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    both will fail. replace it with the exact same one.
     
  4. SNiiPE_DoGG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    582 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    135
    yeah, if you use a capacitor that is a different size (farads) the resonance of the circuit will change and will invariably mess a whole lot up.
     
  5. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,991 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,716
    Location:
    US
  6. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,175 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    363
    You need to replace it with the exact same capacitor rating wise, temp, farad, volt, type. Otherwise it will be messed up.
     
  7. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    so will the one AsRock posted work then or do they have to be solid smd capacitors
     
  8. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    does it really matter if its a Radial Electrolytic or SMD Solid type, the original one was a SMD but the SMD's are harder to find.
     
  9. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,952 (3.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,754
    replacing a 330 uF 16V with a 470 uF 16V cap will work just fine, given that this capacitor is used in a power stabilizing function and not in some kind of harmonic resonance circuit. always use bigger or equal voltage (it's the maximum rated, so has no effect for operation at all), and equal or higher capacity (if it's much too big then there might be a bit more inrush current but shouldnt be a problem)
     
    KainXS says thanks.
  10. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    well thanks wizzard:respect:
     
  11. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    yes you can i did it with my 4890, there is a thread on here about it
     
  12. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,601 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    I haven't tested the card because I am missing a piece I need for the pc

    but I flipped over the card and saw this zero ohm resistor and it looks burned to me

    what do you guys(and gals lol) think
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2010

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page