1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Replacing old gaming rig

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by cgoodman381, Nov 29, 2009.

  1. zithe

    zithe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,087 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    North Chili, NY
    it's an i7 860 + p55 for 250. 229 after mib.
    cgoodman381 says thanks.
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    CPUs are the same price, but the Mobos are more expensive for 1366. If you can afford 1366 without sacrificing too much in the ways of graphics performance, or if you fund a good deal on a 1366 combo, by all means, go for it.
    cgoodman381 says thanks.
  3. cgoodman381

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    57 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Haha sorry I should have just typed out the deal rather than link it.
  4. kurosagi01

    kurosagi01

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,096 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    Northampton,UK
    [​IMG]

    This what i would buy from what people say get 1156 chipset
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
  6. cgoodman381

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    57 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Ok well I have my mobo/CPU figured out. What about gpu now? Is that gigabyte card fairly decent? I should have a little more funds avaivable for a card. Should I get two of those if I can or would a better card do more for me?
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    456
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Get an i5 to save some cash if you are using that rig to game. :pimp:
    You really don't need HyperThreading to game, and it usually isn't doing any good @games.
    Don't bother with a 1156 i7.
    Last edited: Nov 30, 2009
  8. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,776
    He's keeping it for 4 years minimum. I'd definitely get i7.
  9. cgoodman381

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    57 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    I was checking out my local best buy today and they have a 300gb WD raptor for 150 + tax. Not a bad price... Am I going to see a huge improvment using this rather then a standard WD w/ 32mb cache?
  10. DirectorC

    DirectorC New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,624 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Location:
    Florizy
    It'd be better to buy another of the drive you have and RAID0 it up. 14.4K RPM vs 10K RPM...

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page