1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Replacing old hard drive, need way to copy Windows installation across

Discussion in 'Storage' started by dhdude, Mar 1, 2011.

  1. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Hey Guys,
    What would be the best way of copying/imaging the entire contents of an old system drive over to a replacement hard disk for the same machine? I need to copy the Windows installations and all other data to the new drive, and then format the old drive to use as a backup.

    Any suggestions? :)
     
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Hard Disc Manager from Paragon is an awesome & reliable utility for doing everything you need with hard discs, including imaging. This is the one I use.

    www.paragon-software.com
     
    dhdude says thanks.
  3. stock

    stock

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    348 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    dhdude says thanks.
  4. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Or you could use Acronis True Image.
     
    dhdude says thanks.
  5. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Thanks for the speedy replies guys :) All of those pieces of software look good, I'll probably use Acronis, as I've used their software before, and the reviews seem good. Thanks for your help guys! :)

    PS I think Ill give all 3 a go and on a test machine and see which I prefer!
     
  6. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I think Paragon's gonna win. ;)
     
  7. stock

    stock

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    348 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Unfortunately you think wrong

    Keep ya chin up :D
     
  8. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    With an avatar like that, it won't be just my chin! ;)

    This one, in case it changes:

    [​IMG]
     
    stock says thanks.
  9. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,007 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,556
    Why not do a clean install?
     
  10. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Would normally, but this is a business machine with some VERY expensive legacy accounting software on XP, which is single activation, but I recently partitioned and put 7 on it but XP needs to be kept too. So imaging the drive is the only option unfortunately :banghead:
     
  11. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,007 (7.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,556
    Ah ok. I hate that shit. One small mess up and you have an epic fail on your hands. I would PM cadaveca. Hes good with the imaging stuff IF hes willing to help. Hes kinda like the troll that lives under a bridge. He will want you to say his name backward and such.
     
    dhdude says thanks.
  12. CBRworm

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    55 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    I have had good luck with Acronis and R-Drive Image.
     
    dhdude says thanks.
  13. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Just a quick update guys, Acronis worked out best for me in the end :) However, playing around with it on my home machine, I noticed it wont image my RAID array (in Sys Specs - ICH10R RAID). It wont even recognise that theres data on it; it just wont let me set it as a Source Disk (unselectable), and when set as a Destination Disk it won't see the partitions.

    Any suggestions for software that might allow me to image my RAID array to my backup disk of same capacity?
     
  14. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Paragon will work just fine with raid, my friend. ;)

    I've not needed this feature so far personally, but look at the product specs and you'll see that it's built from the ground up to support it. And anyway, taken with all the other features, it makes this a winner.

    Hey, post 3333! FTW :rockout:
     
    dhdude says thanks.
  15. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Just a question, don't mean to jack his thread, although the op basically had his question answered....
    Isn't Acronis True Image a Western Digital only HDD disk imager? Or is it some other one?
     
  16. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Sweet thanks Qubit, will definitely give it another look :)
     
    qubit says thanks.
  17. dhdude

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    184 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Nope, works on all disks, product designed for most hard drives out there, anyone care to back me up?
     
    happita says thanks.
  18. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Acronis is a general HD manager application which works on all drives. Perhaps you mean is there a cut down version that works on WD drives only? If so, I believe there is. Check out the WD website, it might be a free download.

    EDIT: www.wdc.com
     
    happita says thanks.
  19. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    ACRONIS TRUE IMAGE FTW! or nortan ghost from HBCD but ATI works much better
     
  20. Brandenburg

    Brandenburg New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    171 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Waco,Texas
    i have used acronis and paragon...i like paragon the best i think
     
    qubit says thanks.
  21. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    28-year-old Seagate ST-412 disk drive from 1983!

    [​IMG]

    Wow! Just look at the primitive mechanism for moving the heads - it's really similar to that of a floppy drive and might use dead reckoning.

    The Register
     
    Brandenburg says thanks.
  22. Eric_On_Web New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    271 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    That's the kind of useless stuff you keep image in your head all life long and bring it back on the table at chit chat computers party :p
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page