1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Request: can someone with a hyperthreaded quadcore help me out?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Nosada, Jul 26, 2010.

  1. Nosada

    Nosada

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    As some of you may have noticed, I'm a bit obsessed with the Final Fantasy XIV benchmark. I really want to get my girlfriend the best possible pc for this game without throwing money overboard and that's why I need your help. I don't have any access to an Intel i7 of any kind at the moment and would love to know if hyperthreading has any real advantages in this game. As it stands the plan is to buy an i5 760, but if hyperthreading would give her even a 5% increase, we're likely to buy a Xeon 3440 or i7 860.

    So if anyone would be willing to download the benchmark here and post his results on high, with and without hyperthreading, that would be awesome. :toast:
     
  2. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    i highly doubt hypertheading would help at all over 4 cores already.... no games need more then 4 cores... or even 3 really.
     
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,676 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,267
    +1 on this.

    And it would be throwing away money to buy those CPU's for just ONE game. It's the definition of wasting money.
     
  4. Nosada

    Nosada

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    The logical part of me agrees with you, but the benchmarks I've gathered so far seem to suggest i7's score about 5~10% better in this game compared to i5's clocked at roughly the same speeds. I'm wondering if that's just down to individual settings people used, or that more than 4 cores have an actual advantage. That's why I would like someone to test this on one systems, so all other variables remain the same.

    You might think so, but she played the previous Square MMO religiously from launch till now. Spending an extra 50€ to gain more fluent gameplay in a game you'll be playing for the next 5+ years doesn't sound so bad, does it? Keep in mind she doesn't really play other games all that much and when she does it's usually on PS3 or X360.
     
  5. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,151 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913

    If you are getting 100 frames per second, what will another up to 10% do for you?

    Check out my thread, the stats are compiled with 2 core, 3 core and 4 core variants (AMD) so you'll have a better idea of performance advantages/disadvantages of adding an extra core brings for this particular game. http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=125059


    The difference in gaming between these processors in gaming will be negligible, the video card is where the money is at and FF isn’t even an intensive game so even a low end video card could max it out with a decent frame rate.

    And yes spending this much for 1 game is a waste of money, if it was a flurry of games it makes sense, but 1 game:twitch:
     
  6. Nosada

    Nosada

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    100 frames per second? Dent1, if you're planning to play this game at launch, don't be fooled by the benchmark, it might be a decent tool to check your performance in cutscenes, but the ingame graphics are extremely heavy on any system. Standing in the market ward in Limsa Lominsa, with literally dozens of people onscreen, my 4Ghz C2D, 4Gb RAM and HD5850 systems grinds to a halt and the resulting slideshow is just smooth enough to get away from there. On some of the boards I frequent and even the beta forums, people are comparing the benchmark to smoothness ingame and the general feeling seems to be that a score of 3.000 or higher on the high settings is the bare minimum to play the game even on medium settings. True fluent gameplay doesn't come till the 4.500 and higher scores, so I'm afraid a dualcore and a low end videocard will certainly come nowhere near maxing out this game.

    PS: spending this much money on one game might seem excessive, but she spends more time in this single game than most gamers put into all their games combined. Better to compare hours played than amount of games.
     
  7. Depth

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    590 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Wait for the i9 and the GTX 495, then.

    And no, the video card is not where the money is at. Your rig is only as strong as the weakest part and with increasing video cards you bottleneck the cpu.
     
  8. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,151 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913

    I was talking generally speaking.


    But I agree, if the OP can not max out this game with a high end video card there must be a bottleneck, the processor is a high end dual core so my feeling is the game is a quad core whore. Saying that I wouldnt upgrade a fatastic E8400 just for one game but its the obvious issue.
     
  9. Nosada

    Nosada

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    252 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Waiting is out of the question, she needs the system by early September, nothing substantially faster will be released in the coming month, so might as well start building now, while I have time on my hands. I'd rather keep her away from sli/xfire as it might just add complications. I picked the HD5850 because it's an easy 950Mhz OC and at those speeds it's just as potent as a 5870 or GTX480 in this game.

    I myself will be waiting on Sandy Bridge and Bulldozer before upgrading.

    The E8400 isn't going in the garbage :) It's going to be put to good use in a new gaming system. It'll probably end up as a full-time cruncher come autumn.
     
  10. 3volvedcombat

    3volvedcombat New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,514 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    261
    Location:
    South California, The desert.
    Get the i7

    Hook it up with a SSD to load all the charcters and the game

    Get a 1gb+ card with performance that can handle like a 5850 or better


    and your good if you stick 6gb of ram or more in the system

    I got 4800+ on my system with 2 gigs of ram right now

    With only 1 GTX 260 and 9600gso for physics, and 2 gigs of ram

    Good system :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2010
    Dent1 says thanks.
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,151 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Shit, I didnt notice that you had only 2 GBs of ram. Your HD activity must be running like crazy!

    That is another bottleneck, running the FF benchmark alone uses more than 2 GBs of ram in total.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page