1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[REQUEST] GTX 580 BIOS MOD for additional VESA modes

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by nmapped, Jul 13, 2011.

  1. nmapped New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I've been trying to patch my BIOS using dumped stock ROM from my GPU:

    EVGA GTX580 Black Ops Edition

    Currently, I'm trying to achieve additional VESA modes. In this case, it's 1920x1080@60. There's very little resources and reference on the web and so far the base of my trials came from this forum thread:

    http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=211294

    The following is my stock BIOS dump.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?3gg8by352h9d3km

    So far, hex editing the ROM dump would either leave no changes in listed/available VESA modes or will leave the card with no display.

    I've even emailed EVGA support to check if there's going to be a BIOS update in near future and they replied saying "We have no plans to do so. Thank you."

    Any assistance and suggestions would be much appreciated :) Thanks!
     
  2. Krony

    Krony New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    288 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    England
    A bit lost really and forgive me for possibly being a noob at this but what r u actually trying to do ?
     
  3. nmapped New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm currently trying to add a new VESA mode to my VBIOS. 1920x1080 :) That's it.
     
  4. Maban

    Maban

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,455 (1.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,051
    Location:
    Minnesota, Canadian States of Norway
    Why wouldn't your card already have the industry standard 1080p?
     
  5. nmapped New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    NO 1920x1080 in VESA tables. Other modes, sure :D I need that mode in my VESA table.
     
  6. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,834 (5.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,612
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Unless you can actually find an app that can display the Vesa coding within a Bios then you would not be able to do anything anyways..... have you? you appear to know your stuff, so you will be aware of the limitations in the "standard" 1600 x 1200 and 1900 x1200 supported standards, hence why you want to try recoding for 1080, is this so you have alternatives if not using a "standard" (read Windows or Linux) based operating systems??

    Edit: I thought the code was written in "C" for Vesa, do you know if thats correct?

    Just found this, page 66.....

    http://www.petesqbsite.com/sections/tutorials/tuts/vbe3.pdf
     
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2011
  7. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,005 (3.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,877
    why do you even want to mess with vesa modes ? dont you have a graphics driver?

    if you are on linux, try "vga=893" kernel arguments for 1920x1200 text mode

    edit: you wanted 1920x1080, try
    vga=0x365 - 1920x1080 8-bit color
    vga=0x366 - 1920x1080 16-bit color
    vga=0x367 - 1920x1080 32-bit color

    hwinfo --framebuffer
    to list supported modes i think
     
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  8. nmapped New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm trying to get the apple booth screen on my hackintosh all the way to my native resolution (1920x1080).
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page