1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Reservoir bleeding. psu question

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mrsemi, Oct 11, 2009.

  1. mrsemi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    658 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    I've completed my loop, plugged the power supply in to get some more bubbles up top and it won't start.

    Does the psu need to be plugged into the mainboard power (not the chip power?) It's not plugged into anything but the pump.
     
  2. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    The main power connector needs to be bypassed in order for the PSU to start.

    Get some wire and plug it in the plug like this:

    [​IMG]

    Then it starts :)
     
    TheLaughingMan says thanks.
  3. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Yes a standard power supply will need ti be connected to the 24 pin mobo connector to turn on.

    I leave my stock air heat sink on while I run the leak test. Makes for more work with a back plate but its worth it.
     
  4. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    I am not sure, nor do I have experience with Water cooling, but the PSU should have a secondary on switch only the Mobo can flip. I believe the PSU will need to be plugged up to the Mobo's 24 pin for it to provide power to anything.

    Trying it doesn't hurt.
     
  5. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,791 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    Plugging the 24pin into the mobo powers both PSU and mobo, and there's the problem. Imagine a leak, and its dripping onto the mobo when its running. You don't want that.
     
  6. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    That's why I suggest leak testing with an air cooler on and away from the sensitive stuff. :)
     
  7. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,652 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
  8. aCid888*

    aCid888* New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,754 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    645
    Location:
    In a state of flux...
    I run a molex from another rig of mine with all my loop fully installed......I then test it using said other rigs PSU for at least an hour before simpling disconnecting the pumps molex from the other rigs PSU and connecting it to a free molex on my system. :)

    That's the best way in my view and its very easy to power your pump using this method without worry of leaks doing ANY damage at all.
     
  9. oily_17

    oily_17

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,313 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Norn Iron
  10. TheLaughingMan

    TheLaughingMan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    4,998 (2.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,291
    Location:
    Marietta, GA USA
    All possible Ideas and I vote for MRCL's way to do test it
     
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,901 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,309
    I use a very cheap Sparkle brand PSU for such things. :)
     
  12. mrsemi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    658 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Thanks guys, working.

    Water leaking out of the res (typhoon III) , not sure the best way to tighten those nozzles in. There was a clear washer that came with the unit, I'm fairly certain now it doesn't go on the nozzle area.

    So now it's time to figure out how to get those nozzles in without breaking them and making them fit snugly.
     
  13. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Teflon Tape

    Get it, its a dollar at your local hardware store and supremely benifical.
     
  14. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,652 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    That and make sure your nozzle has the rubber o-ring on it;)
     
  15. mlee49

    mlee49

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    8,497 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,107
    Or if it doesn't have an O ring you can make one with teflon tape. :toast:
     
  16. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,652 (2.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,129
    Location:
    Olympia, WA USA
    :rolleyes: Smarty-pants....I use both just to be sure:p:D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page