1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Review Consensus: AMD FX Processor 8150 Underwhelming

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Oct 12, 2011.

  1. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    UK South
    did anyone actually read the HardOCP reviews, yes the bulldozer lost out in single thread performance sythetic benchmarks (SuperPi) but it was never run at its native 1866 memory speed instead cripled with 1333 or 1600, every overclock the intel system was running at 4.8Ghz and the bulldozer given 4.6Ghz with the i7's also given extra on the memory as well as clock speed (and on encoding and heavy multi thread gaming the bulldozer either came out exactly the same or in some cases ahead of i7 and i5).
    its release day today so prices are abit higher but still pretty good, if they drop the price £30-£40 which will deffo happen over the next month or so ,it looks very tempting indeed.
    to me thats a hell of an achevement, apart from the single thread side of things.
    alexsubri and Fatal say thanks.
  2. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    I was expecting it to be faster than Phenom II 25% clock vs clock...
  3. Whilhelm

    Whilhelm New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    844 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Location:
    Barrie, Canada.
    Did you read on Hardware Canucks where they tested 1333 and 1866 memory performance and it made no difference at all.
    shb- and [H]@RD5TUFF say thanks.
  4. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    The chips came out and sucked against the current line of Intel chips, facts are facts, it has nothing to do with fanboyism. It was the same way with the GTX 400 series, they ran hot as hell, consumed buckets of power and where only around 10% or so faster then the 5800 series and people criticized it.

    Im still debating whether to go with an 8 core BD or not though.
  5. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    I believe that about it being a server cpu, pushed to the desktop market, more money for less work, theres always going to be someone to buy the cpu just because its Intel or AMD, suckers if you ask me but hey.

    are there any double precision benchmarks on it yet.
  6. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    It's all about strategics right now. AMD is in a chess game with Intel right now. AMD had Intel in check (will lower prices causing Intel to lower their prices , as well. ). Intel's next move will be Piledriver vs i7 2700k ...
  7. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    With 4 less cores -_-.
  8. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    don't do it!
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  9. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    UK South
    i didnt get to read the Hardware Canucks review but didnt seem to change much but they did go from cas 7 1600 to cas 9 1866.
    the 4 cores thing is a strange one with these , as this is 8 threads BD vs 8 threads i7 2600k.
  10. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    What he said. Get Ivy Bridge :D
    1c3d0g and CDdude55 say thanks.
  11. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I already have a 990FX board, it's going to be hell trying to switch over to Intel again. I'd need a new mobo and CPU and i'd have to go through selling the 990FX board if i do.
  12. dirtyferret

    dirtyferret New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    93 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    plains
    i'm in the same boat. there will be little demand for AM3+ mobos
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  13. naram-sin

    naram-sin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    103 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    OMG, AMD, this sucks for me... was a fan-boy, now I'll be just a blower... :(

    [​IMG]

    EDIT: BTW, didn't AMD boast with their single threader performance a while a go?! Not HT but anyway double the processing power?! I dunno... I feel let down although still a fan-boy... :(
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
  14. alexsubri

    alexsubri New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,391 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199

    That FX-1850 is faster than that Dell CPU you got running :p
    [​IMG]
  15. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    I have a dell cpu? didn't know that
  16. catnipkiller

    catnipkiller

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,492 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    canada
    WTB AM3+ MOBS
















    fuck no glwt
  17. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    sell it before it losses when more value. You will be able put an ivy bridge cpu on current LGA1155 chipsets/mobos
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  18. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    No double precision benches but take a look at this, it doesn't look bad as server cpu:

    [​IMG]
  19. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    Dell makes cpu's o_O:wtf:

    anyway maybe you can trade somebody for a decent 1156 board CD?

    yea it really dosen't look bad in that light, . . . . . . in that
  20. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Ya ive been thinking about grabbing a 2500K possibly and moving over to Z68. Then again i might just upgrade my GPU to a GTX 570 or 6970 and stick my overcooked X6 1055T.

    So many choices.
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,528 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,924
    I got a Bulldozer n' stuff... Just because...:p
  22. mtosev

    mtosev New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,463 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    Location:
    Maribor, Slovenia
    Or you can wait for AMD to release Bulldozer 2. maybe they get it right with B2:)
  23. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,901 (8.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,487
    Balla's gotta ball!
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,456 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,004
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Can me consolidate bulldozer threads? there is like 4 going non-stop :)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,395 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    634
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    No! That where BD's strength lies! ;)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page