1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Revisiting The RV Park WiFi

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Michale32086, Jan 28, 2014.

  1. Michale32086

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    About a year ago, I was helped out immensely by people here in updating a WiFi system for a local RV Park..

    Here is the thread: http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/wifi-hotspot-for-rv-park.180045/

    Things went real smoothly for quite a few months, but now the system keeps collapsing. Not sure if it's from User overload or something else, but Management at the RV Park wants to update the system..

    Since that last discussion back in 2013, the requirements have coalesced into being more specific.

    What we need is an outdoor all-weather system such as this .....

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Extreme-Net...or-Access-Point-3550-5Yr-Warnty-/181294372320

    .... but with a/b/g/n protocols.

    We definitely need POE...

    It needs to cover a lightly wooded area approx 400x400 feet http://sjfm.us/temp/RV012814.jpg

    It needs to handle high load access such as streaming video for multiple (many) connections...

    And it needs to come in under $5K-$8K...

    And, while we're at it, lets see if we can bring peace to the Middle East and get that Mars Landing program done.. :D

    Michale

    NOTE: Cleared up time discrepancy. It wasn't 4 years ago, it was a year ago. My bust..
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2014
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Are you looking for AC protocol as well? "A" is not used very much at all. Problem with AC is it's still emerging, so not nearly as many products on the market (yet). But it is far superior for bandwidth and range. More an more adaptors (and laptops and phones) you'll see will be both N and AC capable.

    Google "Wireless AC Access point" and you won't find a lot of direct hits, but plenty of N units.

    You can also build an outdoor enclosure if you want to go that route.
     
    Michale32086 says thanks.
  3. Michale32086

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yea, that's the way I went back in 2010...

    http://sjfm.us/temp/rvwifiBox.jpg

    And it works and I will likely go that way again with the expanded.

    But having a weather proofed AP in place is a really nice way to go. :D

    Thanx for the reply... I'll check out the AC units..
     
  4. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,731 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,464
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Nice housing, what did you get for a router back then? I suggest AC for "future proofing". AC has been out for a while but companies are still putting out what can only be described as prototypes. Commercial use is still young.
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,398 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    i say go with wifi N, the tech is mature and you get N150/N300/N600 as speed options in well tested hardware.

    you could also go with powerline/homeplug tech for multiple backbones to the various AP's.
     
  6. Michale32086

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    In that pic, I had a skinned Linksys WRT54G running DD-WRT... In the 2010 hardware update, I went with a series of Amped Wireless R2000G that was suggested by RemixedCat here...

    Planning for possible future needs definitely has appeal...
     
  7. Michale32086

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Yea, I thought that as well. But my concern is that there are one or two bandwidth hogs that might be overtaxing the current AW R2000Gs that are installed new. I am just now starting to research the logging/QoS capabilities of the R2000Gs.. If anyone has any insight on that as well...

    Well, as Ross Perot said in the 1992 Presidential Debates, "I am all ears"... :D
     
  8. Michale32086

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Keep in mind that a BIG part of what we need is POE. That was the down side to the AW R2000Gs that I ended up using. POE is a major requirement.
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,398 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697

    all i can advise is that the TP link routers i use all have per-IP bandwidth management. you can literally set a global rule say
    192.168.1.2 through 192.168.1.255 all have max down of 400KB/s and max up of 40KB/s

    then no one user can hammer the network, they just choke their own bandwidth pool. now clearly you should be able to get the same effect with better hardware, but if TP link can do it on a $20 router, you should be able to find a superior version with what you're dealing with.

    one advantage here: you only need to do the shaping once, at the upstream level, more or less at the core modem/router.
    disadvantage: if you're going to segregate the network with multiple DHCP servers, you'll have to give the router a higher allocation, and then re-shape the bandwidth after each router.


    edit: the TP links i have also support PoE. they may not have the performance levels you require, however.
     
  10. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,698 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I built you a system a in that other thread and it was over looked. I just built the same system using a P4 1GB ram with dual Gig NIC cards, a gig POE switch with 14 POE wireless N 300mbps nodes and it houses over 175 devices at this time and has ran strong for 3 months without a single slow down or reboot.
     
    Michale32086 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Michale32086

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    At the time, I didn't have the knowledge to really understand what you were trying to say..

    I am a little smarter now. :D

    What OS are you running on the P4 machine that's acting as the router??
     
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,698 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    IPcop

    http://ipcop.org/

    download the ISO and burn to a disk and its quite easy to install. Then you can access it via webpage using port 8443
     
    Easy Rhino says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Michale32086

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  14. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,698 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Well with that software, the more NIC cards you put in the more interfaces you can create.

    Also when it comes to access points, I would recommend UniFi AP's. They have a nice piece of software that you can control and map each of their locations along with monitor traffic/users individually.
     
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2014
    Easy Rhino and Michale32086 say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,380 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,230
    Ubiquity and any hardware router/firewall for bandwidth management.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Michale32086

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    That sounds like EXACTLY what I need... Do you have any recommendations on specific models??
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,698 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,595 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    +1 ubiquiti
     
  19. Michale32086

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  20. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,595 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    319
    Michale32086 says thanks.
  21. Michale32086

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
  22. Michale32086

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Messages:
    40 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    OK, I am writing up a proposal for the management for an upgrade...

    One question though.. The UniFi AC AP that is POE ready would STILL require a ToughSwitch type device to actually feed the power to the APs, right?? I was thinking that, if I went for the AC units as opposed to the B/G/N units, I could forgo the ToughSwitch on the AC units.

    But that's not the case. Regardless of whether I go with the AC or with the B/G/N, I will still need that TouchSwitch... Right??
     
  23. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,965 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    You had them this long and you didnt' try the QoS???

    If you want the absolute best nitty gritty QoS controls I recommend Cisco Meraki. I have tested 2 of thier routers and I have one of thier access points... the MR12.

    Here's a screen shot of the QoS controls:

    Group policies configuration - Meraki Dashboard.png

    See this review I wrote for one of the routers I tested:
    http://remixedcat.blogspot.com/2014/01/cisco-meraki-mx60w-review.html

    Put the RV park guests on the seprate VLAN and throttle torrents and stuff.

    Thing is the meraki stuff is more on the pricey side MR12 is 300 some including the software license, the MX60W is around 1000USD, However the range isn't as good as the amped units so you would need to deploy more of them


    Now the extreme networks unit you mentioned requires a wlan controller which adds to the cost. Meraki does not require that as it's cloud managed. also with it being cloud managed it's anti theft and also they have air marshall in them as well as auto rf.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2014
  24. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,698 (9.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,159
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yea remixcat, the IPcop has a pretty good QoS setup that can be done but its up to him on price he has on this project and what he want to do as the local IT support cause he may not be familar with how cisco management works. I do agree that is a good router.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  25. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,965 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    651
    Is IPCop's QoS like the Meraki???
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page