1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[Case Gallery] Reworked Cables in best budget sleeper ever! (V2)

Discussion in 'Case Mod Gallery' started by i_am_mustang_man, May 18, 2006.

  1. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    To view this case mod, go here.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Specs:
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ 256MB ram (upgraded soon after purchase) built-in VGA (upgraded soon after purchase) 80 HDD DVD+-RW DL Price for computer=$750 -$250 rebate -$50 rebate -$50 rebate -$75 Discount +$180 for ATI X800 GTO2 (unlocked and overclocked) +140 for 1GB + 2X512 GB (not optimized yet with pairing, but whatever!) Total = $645!! The performance? It speaks for itself with the GTO2 @ 581/629
    I broke the 6600 after some more oc confidence: 6731!!

    http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=2021208

    I think i'm going to upgrade the psu next, and maybe new case, whichever the best deals come by (i'm rooting for a 450watt ~$15 or so after rebates)

    Mods:
    As much cable management as I could do. The first case photo is factory stock with everything just dropped in. I paid a little more attention to everything, and it looks a million times better (imho). please give me advice on what you would do next considering the project ( where cheap has to = good performance)

    side note, i think i am going to put a window in this thing (if i can get a window with air vents in it that fits this thing!)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 20, 2014
  2. markkleb Guest

  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Apple is EVIL! They stole my money with that I-Pot of theirs.
     
  4. chris03 Guest

    This is ok i guess

    ONE problem you went to PC world if i may say that is really stupid of you and you got APPLE and PC WORLD have you gone mad.but excepted from that i think the specs are ok and 1 thing how much did it cost from PC world
     
  5. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston

    first off, what?
    pc world? i got it at office depot months ago

    the pricing you can find in my previous build, i haven't spent any more money on it

    lastly, to all you mac bashers, you clearly have never used a mac recently, with their unix console availability and their prowess at video and sound editing, they are top notch machines. of course they're not gaming machines, that's why i didn't post my mac here. also, i put the apple sticker on the pc because i am trying to run dual boot on this computer, the inverse of boot camp: run osx86 on this and windows via a partition that i can access in bios (trying to work a way to have it give me a menu when it first boots up, but i haven't worked on it in so long i don't even think i could pick up where i left off)

    plus, it's funny to have an apple sticker on a pc, methinks :)
     
  6. markkleb Guest

    Its ur comp and you can do anything you want to it. Its just like putting a Ford sticker on my Camaro....
     
  7. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,644 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Lol, thatd be funny..... What year is it?
     
  8. markkleb Guest

    69 its a RS/SS 396.
     
  9. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,644 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Nice, id like to see some pictures sometime if thats ok, I just have a thing with cars, its ok if you dont want to, never really seen a 69 camaro.
     
  10. markkleb Guest

    ? never?
     
  11. drade

    drade

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,644 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Im serouis, Im very new to cars, I just saw my first 69 mustang sweet car, but I want to see that camaro, I find cars confusing /amazing
     
  12. Velcro New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Messages:
    91 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    nice job on the routing! LOOKS MUCH BETTA1
     
  13. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    it would be like that, if your camaro also had a ford engine in it that it could run off
     
  14. i_am_mustang_man New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,854 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Boston
    on the 450watt ~$15 note

    today, the fry's ad for my city (san diego) had the antec smartpower 2.0 500 watt for 54.99 before a 40.00 MIR. just picked it up and plopped it in. now i can add more fans and lights and stuff!! it's modular cables too, which kicks ass, plus my mobo is now (finally) running on a 24pin plug unlike the sketchy 20-pin 300W psu that my comp came with

    it's in store only
     
  15. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,301 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,187
    E-macrap. Ewww.


    Good job on the cleanup though. Kudos+++
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  16. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    I noted you have round cables going into it - you're going to like that, this is for certain!

    I did @ least.

    I went to using those for floppies, HDD's (EIDE mostly, now only on my SONY DRU 810a DVD burner), etc & have NOT looked back (& SATA/SATA2 has only made airflow even better, because they are tiny cables, inside of my cases here).

    They cost a bit more, but you have them & can use them, system-to-system, all the way up to the death of std. IDE/EIDE or the floppy drive itself (which, imo, is not going to happen in either case anytime soon).

    :)

    * Keep @ it, it's not that expensive to get into (for once, something on a PC that doesn't "break you" going "high-end" & that's better cabling) either...

    APK

    P.S.=>
    You're going to like that, a lot - I do! I have the same one here, & you only add power shunt harnesses "AS NEEDED", plugging them in as needed... this I liked, very much! PLUS, they're ALL BRAIDED & such, makes for a much neater case interior... apk
     
  17. markkleb Guest

    I am a big fan of rebates and sales and even used stuff. Great job of not wasting money..
     
  18. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,455 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    thats perfect kinda reminds me of my dell4600 that i rewired
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page