1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rgb Nosignal

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by RGBNOSIGNAL, Jan 29, 2007.

  1. RGBNOSIGNAL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Last night when I got home my desktop icons were all maximized and my desktop background pic was distorted. There was a message saying something about a driver? When I went to reboot it looked like it was going to work but then I got this "RGB No Signal" message (a small icon in the middle of the screen)? Then it asked if I wanted to boot up in safe mode etc…. I am able to boot up in safe mode and access all of my files but that's it.

    Could someone please let me know what I need to do to fix this? Thanks!

    Sorry if this is not posted in the correct forum...I wasn't sure which one to post to?
     
  2. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    What's your system's spec?

    you to the windows boot up menu (by hitting F8) and select the option regarding VGA (i forgot what its actually called).
     
  3. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    Sounds like a corrupt driver if everything works fine in safe mode, plus the message. Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the device driver for whichever video card you own?
     
  4. RGBNOSIGNAL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried to do the automatic reinstall but no driver was detected so I need the actual disk to reinstall......problem is my ex gave me the pc with everything installed minus the disks....what do I do now? If I have to buy another, I have no idea where to start. Suggestions?
     
  5. Thermopylae_480

    Thermopylae_480 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,686 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    393
    Location:
    Little Rock Arkansas, United States
    It would help if we knew which display adapter you had. If you don't know; right click on your desktop > Select "Properties" > "Settings" Tab > Click Advanced > then select the "Adapter" tab and tell us what it says.

    You can un-install the drivers by going to; Start > Control Panel > Add or Remove Programs > then select any programs associated with either NVIDIA or ATI, whomever manufactures your card, and clicking on change/remove. Then go to the website of whichever company manufactures your card and download the latest display driver.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2007
  6. RGBNOSIGNAL New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Sorry...I don't have that info on me...I'm at work...I will check and try what you said and re-post tomorrow. Thanks much for your help thus far.;)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page