1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ripjaws on a AM3 Mobo?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by (FIH) The Don, Nov 9, 2009.

  1. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
  2. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    no they will work with AM3 boards. Quite well in fact. Its just that the i7/i5 is more popular and especially with the i5/i7 being released on the 1156 socket. Marketing really.
  3. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Nice choice of board, cheaper in price and get almost all the finesse of the 790FX boards. 790X is just awesome.
  4. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    are you sure?

    is just a stunt to make people buy them for their p55 boards or what?

    or is it because of the voltage limit?

    i am not gonna overclock the memory.
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    yeah I am sure. My G Skill Tridents said the same thing from the newegg site. It just lets you know that the new it platform out, 1156 corei5/i7. this memory will work in it no problems. All DDR3 is pretty much set at 1.65V anywho, or around there. I actually have mine at 1.62 in the Bios for the PC3 12XXX DDR 1600 settings. It will be fine.
  6. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    okay F*** it then i'm gonna go for it, + if they work i can buy another set from a friend for a very nice price ^^
  7. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Thats a nice looking board, and the color scheme is going to look awesome. Nice choices:toast:
  8. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,006 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    actually AM3 does not have a voltage limit like i7 does

    i have that exact mobo its pretty good for the price! just got it last friday

    voltage regulation is great, nice set of options on the back and looks really good, kinda chocolate brown with nice blue tones
  9. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    "actually AM3 does not have a voltage limit like i7 does

    i have that exact mobo its pretty good for the price! just got it last friday

    voltage regulation is great, nice set of options on the back and looks really good, kinda chocolate brown with nice blue tones"

    yeah i only choose it because of the looks, damn its always because of the look, Girls, Cars, PC's haha:-D

    but no, i just found it to be at pretty nice budget board until i can afford a highend x58 setup again,

    "Thats a nice looking board, and the color scheme is going to look awesome. Nice choices"

    yeah i thought so too, and when i saw the ripjaws i cancelled those nasty OCZ plat i almost bought:-S
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Those ripjaws will serve you well, especially with the nice heatsinks on them and low profile. I dare say you should have no issues with clearance of any kind.
  11. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    i will be using a small water cooling kit just for CPU så no probelmo sir:toast::cool:
  12. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,824 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    from da egg Features: Compatible with Dual Channel Intel Core i5 CPU for P55 chipset motherboard, Dual Channel Core i7 CPU for P55 chipset motherboard, and AMD AM3 Platform.
    4gb G.Skill they should work don't see why not :)
  13. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    Sweetness :rockout:

    this is my first am3 setup, so i hope it will be very nice
  14. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    I'm using 2000mhz Ripjaws, don't expect to hit super high frequency's on an AM3 setup, if you can get 1600, be happy, then drop timings to make up for it.
  15. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    well as i said, i aint gonna overclock them, and i think that 1600mhz i the limit for am3 motherboards? or am i wrong?
  16. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Pretty much, you an find stability higher, but 1600 is going to be the highest thats easier to achieve.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page