1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rise from your grave! The 3dfx re-build

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by TRWOV, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. lagginswag New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Nice build! brings me back for sure... :rockout:

    I have 3 old builds sitting around the house. one of them is a pentium 3 566 mhz, abit bx6 motherboard, 512mb of 100mhz ram, a 40gb hdd, and a diamond stealth video card... i had a geforce2 mx440 64mb card laying around but i seem to have lost it. also have a emachines, (not in a case at the moment) not sure what motherboard, celeron 466mhz, with 256mb of ram, and a 13gb hdd lol. im only 25 but i remember using those like it was just yesterday...last is a gigabyte ga-7n400 pro mobo, athlon xp 1.7 ghz, 1gb ram, 80gb hdd and nvidia geforce 8400gs pci card as the agp slot i think is fried from heat damage (too much gaming) :banghead:

    i remember using a 3dfx voodoo 2 a friend had back in teh day as well. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2012
    TRWOV says thanks.
  2. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,227
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Finally in Windows! :laugh:
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,283 (11.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,565
  4. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,863 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,416
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Yeah this is America. We speak mostly English here or parts of it anyway. :laugh:
     
    TRWOV says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,527 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,073
    Location:
    Mexico
    Can you tell what's coming?

    [​IMG]

    :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    8,662 (8.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19,608
    Here ya go:

    img8322e.jpg


    Now it's in Australian :laugh:
     
    Horrux, Mussels and Cuzza say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Cuzza

    Cuzza New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,318 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    207
    Location:
    New Zealand

    I lol'd!!!

    Funny, you would think New Zealandish and Australian would be similar, but I non comprende.

    @ ThE_MaD_ShOt

    So the first golden orb I pictured , the one with all the side fins, DOESN'T have the four mounting pins???

    My one did have the four pins, but it was mounted on a flat piece of metal, without all those side fins. I always thought that the one pictured was a later model, but from what you are saying it seems like the earlier model??

    Either way, doesn't help OP with finding one.

    good progress btw
     
  8. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,863 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,416
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet

    [​IMG]

    This is the one I have and it doesn't have the 4 mounting holes, just the 2 clips in the picture to mount it with. Which the early slot 1 and all slot A procs used. :toast:
     
    Cuzza says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,527 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,073
    Location:
    Mexico
    I'm LOVING the case, even more than the Gladiator 600 (the paint on the side panels looks too shiny and cheap :().

    The panels have a rugged surface and the front panel's edge is piano-shiny but it gives an elegant touch to the case.

    If you go with an SFX PSU (12.5 x 10 x 6.35 cm) and with the right motherboard you could put 10.5" graphic cards in there, 11" if the connector sits on the top of the card. You'd need a mobo with the PCIe x16 in the second slot since the first slot sits around the same height as the ODD cage and that would limit the length to 9" or so.

    There are a few SFX PSUs with enough wattage for a mid-range rig:

    400w
    FSP Group FSP400-60GHS(85)-R 400W Micro ATX12V 8...

    450w
    SILVERSTONE ST45SF 450W SFX12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Cert...
    FSP Group FSP450-60GHS(85)-R 450W Micro ATX12V 8...

    If you really really needed some serious juice, you could use a supplementary PSU like this one:
    FSP Group Booster X5 450W Independent/Supplementar...


    Of course, tower style HSFs are out of the equation but I think that something like the Corsair H60 or Antec Kuhler 620 could fit in there too.


    I'll hit the flea market tomorrow since I still need an ISA Ethernet card, maybe pick-up a cooler for the P3 if I'm lucky. I'll let you know what I find. :D
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2012
    _JP_ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,527 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,073
    Location:
    Mexico
    Score!!!

    Went to the flea market and found this beauty. Still no Ethernet card :(

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Pentium III Katmai 500Mhz



    On my way back I also spotted this:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Pentium III Coopermine 600E (0.18 micron) in a SiS5595 board with both Slot1 and Socket 370 :wtf:
    Sidewinder Force Feedback Pro :nutkick:

    Any good flying sims for Win98? :p
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    Awesome finds! Your flea markets are awesome! Usually I would have to pay around 10€ to get one for those processors (still). Motherboards are indeed cheap, but getting one that doesn't have some sort of problem is hard. :(
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Here's a list of Jane's simulators.
    I also have to recommend novaligic's simulators.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    With the exception of F-22 Raptor, you can buy all of novalogic's simulators on steam.
     
  12. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,527 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,073
    Location:
    Mexico
    You basically have to scavenge and invest some time as the things are unceremoniously dumped in sacks and boxes, sometimes the seller spreads them on the floor. Most things go for a couple of dollars since the working condition is unknown at best.

    From time to time you find good stuff, the best computer related thing I've found was a Dell motherboard with a Q6700. The board didn't work but the Q6700 is working fine to this day.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    I agree, but the problem is the mentality. Here, if people think that it's useless, in the trash it goes, no second thoughts. If they think or hear that it might have some value, milk it as best as possible. Add personal value to everything. So it's hard to find good deals. Very hard.
    And that Q6700, it's a lifetime one, I can only dream of such a thing.
     
  14. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,709 (13.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,108
    Man, I had the exact same setup! I had a 450mhz PIII though. Same motherboard too! Makes me happy to see yours up and running! :toast:

    Deus Ex should run great on that system. I know there were a lot of people working on drivers for it back in the day. The Wing Commander series would also be great for your rig.
     
    TRWOV says thanks.
  15. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,527 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,073
    Location:
    Mexico
    Any OC tips for this board? Haven't tried anything yet and the manual n0tiert found online doesn't have a lot of info.



    I think the HDD is bad, from time to time the disk isn't detected in the bios. I'll go with the 6.4GB for the time being until I get a good drive.



    EDIT:

    Both Pentiums work fine :rockout: Using the PIII 600E right now.

    6.4GB working fine. Ran some benchies:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Any modern browser that still runs in Win98? Running IE6SP1 ATM

    I still need a 133FSB CPU to test the board compatibility and an ISA Ethernet card. I had my eyes on a 3com Etherlink I saw but the port was broken. I'm currently using this gizmo to surf:
    [​IMG]
    Works fine but with the USB ports being 1.1 it's slooooooooooow... can't wait to get the USB 2 card.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    ah yea 1.1 is horribly slow for a network. can't wait to get my old school media center/gamer/arcade up and running! I wonder if I should build an arcade cabnet for it lol. for now i'll be lucky if the stuff i have works. i think i have some of those flight sims.

    oh btw... for a laugh try going to nvidia's website using IE6
     
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2012
    More than 25k PPD
  17. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    You're being mean! :laugh:
     
  18. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    i wasn't meaning to be :eek:
     
    More than 25k PPD
  19. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,683 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    Well, there will some sites that are going to be a pain in the arse to use with IE6, although, most of the old ones are still designed for it.

    @TRWOV Why not look for a PCI network card. Might be cheaper and easier to find.

    BTW, found a dual socket 370 board here for 26.5€. Kind of expensive...but already has DDR266. Uhm...expensive?
     
  20. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,527 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,073
    Location:
    Mexico
    The two bottom slots are ISA and I need as much space as possible for the Zalman heatsinks I'm going to install on the Voodoo.
     
    _JP_ says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,731 (1.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Firefox 2.0.0.20 is the latest version for 98. Runs just as well as the later versions.
     
    TRWOV says thanks.
  22. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,527 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,073
    Location:
    Mexico
    Thanks for the heads-up. The current 7zip (32bit) works fine in Win98, thought I'll have to rely on Winzip :) And with UltraISO I can mount disc images as well. Here I come The Journeyman Project :rockout:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,863 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,416
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Looking good with the build. I guess I need to get back working on mine. Also I just picked up a 600eb 256 133 pent III proc.:D I just might do some changing on my build.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,420 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    584
    here's what i was trying to get him to see lol

    [​IMG]

    and yea... that's a starcraft mouse pointer lol
     
    More than 25k PPD
  25. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,527 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,073
    Location:
    Mexico
    I picked up a Logitech S120 speaker set and updated the first post with a log.

    I've reconsidered and I'm going to forego the ethernet card. The USB adapter is working fine and aparently the slow browsing was due to the defective HDD I was using as with the current one it doesn't slow down as much. Besides I'll mainly use the web to upload screenshots here or something so I think it doesn't matter if I don't have a dedicated card. That way I'll have more open slots just in case I come across something I want to install.

    Now that the build is working properly I'll be doing some cable management and order a few things I need (cables, extensions, etc). Still on the lookout for an FSB133 CPU.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page