1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

RMA on a new Q9550 CPU !

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by trickson, Jan 23, 2009.

  1. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    :nutkick:
  2. mikek75

    mikek75 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    118
    Location:
    Chippenham, Wilts, United Kingdom
    Understandable, but really I think you've been very lucky not having any major failures. When you think how intricate a CPU is (let alone one with four cores) I think its amazing that there aren't many more failures. Its very very rare for a chip to cause problems, and when they do its often because the user has been overclocking it beyond what it was intended to reach. Lets face it, few of us have any real in depth knowledge of our systems, and yet we push them beyond there limits routinely....

    Good luck with the replacement, now if THAT one is dodgy then yeah, go ballistic, LOL:toast:
    trickson says thanks.
  3. techjunkie

    techjunkie New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    173 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    :slap::slap::slap:

    Edit : I'm childish
    trickson says thanks.
  4. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah I hear you . :respect:
  5. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    :nutkick::nutkick::nutkick::nutkick::nutkick:

    And I feel like this ^^^ .
  6. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    Send the chip to me, I'd hit 3.6GHz no problems like my chip.
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    It will be at newegg Wednesday then I have to see what they do from there . I hope they give me a good Chip this time . I again am not looking forward to this but I have some hope that it will be a good stepping good running Smooth cool CPU .

    yeah I maybe all jacked up and pissed off and I know that these things happen but they just never have happened to me before I have always had nothing but great luck with CPU's , RAM , Mobo's , HDD's , DVD/CD Rom's . Only Video cards and Power supply's have ever been some thing that has given me any problems in the 12 years I have been doing this .
    So I guess that I have some hope and I have been a bit sower about this happening to me but I know that it is just a fluke and it will get sorted out soon .
    But you have to admit when it does happen it really leaves a sower taste in your mouth , Every one gets upset and pissy when there shit fails no matter who you are you have felt or even now feel as I do because your stuff is crapping out on you not performing the way you thought it would or just not working out of the box . It is human nature .
  8. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    I don't care what stepping my CPU's are. I think they all overclock the same, E0 or C1, I don't care. If I get 4GHz on water next week, I'll be happy and that's fast.
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I just want one that will work first . any thing after that is just icing on the cake IMHO .
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    they dont all overclock the same but to each his own ;)


    [​IMG]


    still think you should have gone AMD trickson
    trickson says thanks.
  11. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah I am starting to think this as well . I may just do it if the next CPU is the same I will get a refund and buy up a AMD Phenom II !
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    if you want some help picking out a mobo for it hit me up
    trickson says thanks.
  13. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I will if the CPU I get back is no better than the last one refund time and new build time as well !
  14. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    [​IMG]

    Just look at this run and tell me I will see a better CPU than this . Please tell me this was nothing more than a fluke and that the next one I get will be far better than this one . I so need to know that this is going to be worth it . :respect:
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    :laugh: well if you cant get the FSB up there on a lower multi for 4GHz you wont with water i thought the same when i got my E6400 then with my X3350 but the they both hit the same wall on this mobo so i was not sure on getting the E8500 but this chip gotten 5GHz but it needs to get cold and a FSB of 580 so it is the cpu and some steppings are better like the C0 vs E0 dont clock the same C0 need more volts for the same clocks the also the mobo plays a part also ;)

    so see if you mobo can take it to 570-571 X 6 if then cuz water lowers the temps it migtht help some but cpuz have there limets so when i get the money to get a phase im going to put all of my cpu's on it see what i can get out of them with -40 or so temps :D
  16. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]


    this is way untweaked and run after all the other benchies i ran not to mention i was on FF before running it
  17. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    its a X3350 but its just a xeon ver of the Q9450 24/7 clocks
    [​IMG]

    benching
    [​IMG]
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Man the PII is killing me :laugh: . But I have to ask what are my chances that this ASUS P5N-D mobo can not even handle the Q9550 ? I see that the Q6600 is just fine but is it the mobo or was it the CPU ? I am now so very confused .

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page