1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Rome 2 Total War

Discussion in 'Games' started by ThronedFlame, Sep 5, 2013.

  1. ThronedFlame

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    30 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hey guys I need some help figuring this out. I am getting terrible animation stutter on Rome 2 total war, but I am not sure if it is my computer or just the fact that Nvidia hasn't released a driver that supports Rome 2 yet.

    The game runs perfectly smooth on extreme settings all the way up until the point where the units actually start to fight each other, then terrible animation stutter. I have tried asking on the Total War forums but they are a mess right now. Also, if you helped me last time with my issues, I would appreciate the help again!
     
  2. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,020 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    I have been playing it myself, i get those issues. Sometimes it will stutter (more like halt) like its trying to process something and then it will work smooth again. Its something to do with the game, theres a patch coming out soon so i hope it fixes it.

    Its not a driver issue i don't think.

    EDIT: Yes i'm fairly sure its just bad optimisation as it happens on various low to high end rigs.
     
  3. ThronedFlame

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    30 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This really sucks. Still holding out hope then that it's just optimization. I mean I can run napoleon on almost all ultra with large unit sizes so I don't see why I wouldn't be able to run this
     
  4. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    Napoleon is extremely old by game standards..

    But total war devs have a notorious reputation of releasing broken games.. Wait a month or 2 and go back to it. Theirs no quick fix to your problems because alot of people are having them.
     
  5. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Ugh it's very annoying... The worst thing for me is the GPU is only 50/60% load and 40/50 fps on campaign map with medium and even ultra settings!
    I mean.. I even turned on SSAO and the FPS took a small hit of 3/4 frames and the GPU load is actually underclocking my GPU now... and 40/74% load?!?! also.. the GPU is only 40c! lowest I've seen on a modern game so far?????

    IS it even possible to force my damn GPU to FULL load no matter what?? I hate this constant underclocking and frame rate dropping and regaining itself randomly?!?!?!?!

    Patch done nothing either :/
     
  6. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    I have a lower rated card but perhaps a faster chip.. your id does now say if you are OC..
    I have not experienced this stutter, BUT, when the single core gets loaded it might stutter...
    hopefully the devs come up with a better use of multi core for Rome 3.
    Are you using more than 20 units per army.. ie thousands of troops on map at one time?
    of course you could lower your settings, one suggested the
    AA settings is a tough one on graphics... again good luck!
     
  7. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    I hope they improve the performance swifty! Would you say that it's my processor?? Surely my CPU is more than enough for this game?! Like it's overclocked to 4.4Ghz too!

    The performance doesn't really change much when I mess around with the settings... turning shadows and SSAO on ultra runs very well and when I turn them off.. it only gains 3-4 fps!
    I actually get a decent 6fps going from Ultra terrain to Very High. Kinda surprised with that considering I don't even notice the difference.

    On the campaign map I only get 50FPS while the GPU is only 65% usage tops.. Like if it would run at 90% surely I would get better performance? But the GPU refuses to load anymore?!?!?!

    It gets worse while on the battlefield with usually only 2-3000 units on the field. it just lags while fights start :?
    Perhaps I'm doing something wrong?? Is there actually anyway to force my GPU to 100% full load instead of the GPU deciding for me?
     
  8. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Yes it's your processor because no ones proc can carry he lad as most of the work goes to one core!
    So my 4.8 OC runs little better and fast mem too, BUT the game is the issue!
    I tested this on ultra settings with S2 FOTS, ran great both with video card, a fast OC gigabyte 660 ti, think 670, and the nice on board graphics... Everything looks great and my 15 k troops in foggy rain are happy running around shooting etc, until I zoom in and it stuttered briefly. Looking at the CPU utilization one core was at max ... Too bad really. Maybe some smart person will figure out core optimization for the "engine". So running a little faster chip I'm not yet seeing this but R2 battles are smaller. So, if its killing you try lowering AA. Then maybe go through the various settings.
    One nice thing CA has done is allow lots of fine tuning. That's your short term fix... Sorry to say.

    What kind of temps, almost sounds like you cpu is thermal throttling, where it lowers its speed?
     
  9. a_ump

    a_ump

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    3,603 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    368
    Location:
    Smithfield, WV
    i love total war games, but i'm guessing my celeron g1610, equal to pentium G850 for those that see celeron and think slower than Pentium 4, won't run it too well XD.
     
  10. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Things u can try
    If you can run shogun you can run R2
    Turn down resolution
    All vid stuff off
     
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,781
    Location:
    04578
    Its mostly CPU limited for everyone complaining about lower GPU utilization thats actually normal and honestly im tired of having to point that out

    This game is still based primarily on warscape so alot of data is processed on 1 core, while multi threading has been improved the problem still exists.

    Unit animation stutter is a CPU limitation

    turn Shadows off / lower unit size from Ultra to High and the stutter should go away for the units, If you want Campaign hitching to stop then use an FPS limiter and limit the game to 30 FPS and the problem vanishes.

    The reason Rome II also stutters a bit more is due to even more background data getting crunched from the CPU theres more going on behind the scenes now. However like always

    GPU drivers + Patches will iron out most issues as for stutter

    put the game on an SSD / lower your settings / Overclock the CPU but since your on a laptop thats not possible.
     
  12. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Not trying to contradict you but
    Im not sure an ssd will change anything but load times...
    good luck
     
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,972 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    It allows textures and everything to be loaded quicker, where I think most of the stutter comes from in Rome 2.

    Crazyeyes correct me if I am wrong.
     
  14. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    K, Im not the expert, I just re call the twnet guys saying that in testing fps hd made NO difference, only affected load times
     
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,972 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Depends on the game.

    I have seen Crazyeyes prove the guys on the total war forums wrong multiple times. Crazy is the one to go to if you have questions about Total War and its engine and how things work.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2013
    digibucc says thanks.
  16. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    The main thing to do is wait for more patches.. the game is all over the board when it comes to performance. And textures in tw are loaded at the beginning of the battle so an ssd won't do much of anything outside of load times for this game.
     
  17. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    I'm one of the happy few
     
  18. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,020 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    814
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    SSD does diddly squat to the stuttering, faster campaign load times but there's a LOT of factions in this game so don't be surprised if it is longer than expected to load a turn. I an OCZ Agility 3 so not the best SSD but not one of the slowest either.

    The game generally runs okay but occasionally i get stupid AI glitches and slowdowns now and again. Now and again troops seem to do nothing even when given an order, AI is also not that great to be honest.

    EDIT: I do enjoy the game a little.
     
  19. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    I'm enjoying the game, using buttons to control armies in battle, I'm doing 2 turns per year and still learning why stuff happens. No idea how to make populous happy and avoid continual slave revolts... But killing slave armies is an Easy way to add quality to your legions though.
     
  20. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    I enjoy the game.. it could just be sooooooooooooo much better and will be once the mods start rolling (they already are) and patches come out.
     
  21. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Agreed
     
  22. Irish_PXzyan

    Irish_PXzyan

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,433 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    53
    Location:
    Republic Of Ireland
    Freeboy, My laptop which is average plays every total war game very well which I was very surprised with! Of course this R2 is new and as usual it is the be expected to be pretty bad performance wise.
    My CPU temps usually stay below 60c while until load so I'm sure that's fine?!

    I will try use RadeonPro to put an FPS limit and hope for the best.

    In order to avoid unhappiness you must convert the culture to yours and also use those veterans to make the region happier! I play on legendary mode and never had any unhappiness problems.
    But you must toggle the tax region once you capture a foreign settlement as they be crazy people!
     
  23. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    493 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    The major factors for population happiness are:

    - Squalor, increases as you upgrade city size and most buildings.
    - Culture, you need to assimilate provinces to your culture with buildings and characters. The latter of which can be accomplished with generals and deployed dignitaries.
    - Taxes, lower is better obviously. As the game progresses you should be able to move to lower tax rates, with industry and trade providing more revenue.

    I had the same problem with revolts all the time, but I actually kinda like the new system for provincial development compared to previous TW games. In the original R:TW game you basically had to periodically instigate rebellions in distant lands and then massacre the population. Empire and Napoleon were a mixed bag with resistance to foreign occupation forcing you to park armies in conquered territories for many turns. Now you can fine tune the growth of squalor and food consumption, and also have to consider diplomacy more. Factions with similar culture are easier to rule, but they are also easier to form treaties with due to initial cultural affinity.

    I agree with the other opinions that this game has a lot of potential that won't be realized until it's patched and more mods are available. The two most annoying problems for me right now are the turn times and number of pointless auto-resolved battles caused by factions on the rope attacking with one unit in random locations every turn. I capped out the map last night with Rome, and finished with 54 actual battles fought and over 1,200 auto-resolved battles. Perhaps most annoying about the AI strategy though is that it will hardly ever defend, instead it will forced march and attack random territory somewhere else.
     
  24. freeboy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    979 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    I'm into the expansion period,
    I've pretty much pissed off everyone of my treaty holders they all bailed, and all French Gallic tribes and others declared war within three turns, I'm almost at the next level of imperium, but only six armies it's tough. I'm getting ready to punish some of the closer at war tribes, pretty odd they all went to war at once... I have 16 settlements and just tarting to ramp up my economy. It's pretty accurate the quality of my armies pretty much rips through enemy. I'm tired of killing slaves. So are suggesting higher level culture building will lower slave revolts?
     
  25. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    just don't take slaves... if u do ur gonna spend ur game fighting revolts
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page