1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Router for torrents

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by dinjo_jo, Sep 13, 2010.

1. dinjo_jo New Member

Thanks Received:
    Can anyone recommend me a router which has support for utorrent, looked at

Buffalo WZR-HP-G300NH
    ASUS WL-520gU

Also how do they work , the UI and all as i would be keeping it on without PC as storage can be done on a USB stick and later on transfer files to PC.

2. scaminatrix

scaminatrix

Thanks Received:
    As long as it's for *legal* torrents :laugh:
    I'd recommend anything from Netgear - they're the easiest I've ever found to forward ports with.
    On a side note, there's the Automatic Port Forwarding program from majorgeeks, I found this in 2008; I've used it hundreds of times over the last 2 years and it's great.

Just my opinion, I'm not a pro so someone may come in here now and say Netgear's are made by the Government to track you...

3. MoonPig

MoonPig

Thanks Received:
    Do you mean a Router with a built-in torrent client? Or a router that's easy to configure to allow for torrenting?

scaminatrix says thanks.
  4. scaminatrix

scaminatrix

Thanks Received:
    Ah, good point Moonpig, I missed that. I've never heard of one of them

*goes googling*

EDIT: dinjo, are you sure about a router with an OS that can download even when your PC's off? Neither the Buffalo or the ASUS ones you mentioned seem to do that...

Last edited: Sep 13, 2010
  5. caleb

Thanks Received:
    I'd always pick an openwrt supported device as this is the best possible platform for a nice seed box. Didn't know utorrent works on routers ?! Anyways openwrt has a few clients from which i think Transmission is the best.

Look around their pages theres a supported list or search the forum.
    http://openwrt.org/