1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Router Setup Question

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by macbeth, May 4, 2007.

  1. macbeth New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    http://www.aztech.com/prod_adsl_dsl605ew.html
    I recently purchase this. After i connect to the ip address which is 192.168.1.1 and key in the default user name and password which is Admin for both user name and password. Than i click log in but only a blank page appear.
    Any idea what went wrong here and how can i overcome this problem.
    Thank you.
  2. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Firstly, are you trying to connect to the router via a wireless adapter or are you directly hooked into the router? Some routers dont allow you to configure them remotely (using wireless, or configuring it from a computer not directly connected to it with cable).

    Did you follow all the instructions step by step, correctly? Routers are very picky and sometimes need to be reset if you disconnect/connect modems, power and other connections from them in different orders.

    If the above dont work, Reset the router by removing the power cable and waiting a few seconds and try again.
  3. Frederik S Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,170 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Connect to th router via a network cable (Patch-cable). Then do the same. A lot of router doesn't let the use access the control panel via wireless at least by default. It's a feature you have to enable after hooking up to the router.
  4. macbeth New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I connect my PC to my router via cable.
  5. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Did you try what I said?
    Checking cables and resetting the router by unplugging and replugging?
  6. p-jack New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    334 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Arheilgen
    something just came to my mind....

    some routers need a java-script enabled browser to display their config pages correctly (i remember this from a crappy zyxel router i had years ago :shadedshu ).

    maybe this is it?
  7. macbeth New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i am tried using IE and Firefox and i have java install in my PC and i check in Firefox i have both Enable java-scrip and Enable jave checked.
  8. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    what about your firewalls?
    do you have your computers firewall setup to allow a connection to that IP Address?
    Also, you probably should turn off windows firewall too
  9. macbeth New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Tried turning off my firewall too but still the same. But i did try with my notebook and it work as the manual said it would. But i just cannot get in to the setup page with my pc.
  10. ex_reven New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Messages:
    5,225 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    hmm there must be something up with your network connection then perhaps its disabled or wasnt configured properly. You did set it up properly right?
    (Let it automatically configure IP and DHCP settings).

    Also, if you can config the router on the lappy, theres no problem with that...but youre probably gonna need to work out why your compy isnt getting access to the router...
  11. macbeth New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    128 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    But i can go in to the log in page so i think firewall is not blocking it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page