1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Routers: Are Higher dBi Antennas Effective?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by MT Alex, Jan 25, 2013.

  1. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    I have a TP-Link modem/router that is having difficulty providing a strong signal to my master bedroom, which is about 45 feet and several walls away. I have looked at several range extending solutions, but the cheapest would be to try replacing the 3 dBi antennas with these 9 dBi ones.

    Do these larger antennas work, or are they more of a hoax? I have no experience on the matter and if it's money wasted then I might as well put that towards a better solution.
  2. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    837 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    241
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    They work, but you have to understand how they work. They work generally by changing the shape of the radiation pattern. Router is only putting out so much energy so all you can do with that energy is shape it slightly differently. If you want the same pattern "just bigger", you need a router that puts out more energy or a booster that adds more power to your existing router.
    MT Alex says thanks.
  3. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Ah, so these just change the shape of the Omni-directional doughnut? I'm not sure if that would solve my problem, then.
  4. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    Be a man and run a CAT 6 cable down the hallway ffs. ;)
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  5. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Heck, I ran an 80' one in my crawl space to move my router to where it is now:ohwell: I moved out of my office and into my living room when we had another youngin'

    The best option would be to read before bed like I used to instead of watching Netflix on a tablet.
  6. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,862 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I'd just run a cable in to your deadzone and set up an AP with the same SSID, encryption and password. It's the wireless client's job to pick the best AP. It should work just like cell phones do, hopping from tower to tower. Just make sure they're on different channels.

    If you can't find a cheap access point, just get any ol' second hand router and turn DHCP off.
    Crunching for Team TPU 2 Million points folded for TPU
  7. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,260 (3.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,410
    Another, but more expensive option would be one of those powerline network extenders.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,430 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,270
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    MIMO baby... though I don't think that model has it, you might want to simply try re-arranging the antennea, worth a shot.

    Or you can just pick up a paperback, lol
  9. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    837 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    241
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    It is probably possible to purchase a multi-directional antenna with more gain. More gain means more sensitivity which means more range in every direction. You would need to first determine the db of gain of your existing antennas. If you can then find antennas with a higher db number than the ones you currently have, that will likely give you more range.
    remixedcat says thanks.
  10. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    A lot of residential gateways (modem+router combos) have trouble with range extenders so please keep that in mind.

    Please also keep in mind that you need the proper SMA connector on the router. Many that still have external antennas use proprietary connectors that you can't upgrade the antennae.

    This one is a pretty good option for changing the antenna. You can mix antenna types as well.
    Amped Wireless | High Power 12dBi Omni-Directional Wi-Fi Antenna WA12
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2013
    MT Alex says thanks.
  11. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,606 (2.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,803
    Location:
    Oregon
    Im testing one right now. Actually works quite well. Only down side is its 10/100 but it work great
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013
  12. technicks

    technicks

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,559 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    257
    Location:
    Enschede, The Netherlands
    A few months back i replaced my Linksys WRT54GL for a E2000. Both have custom firmware.
    The new router is great. I finally get what i pay for. Internet speed that is. Looking at the wireless signal. The WRT54GL fitted with high gain 7DBI antenna's did give me full wifi signal bars on my phone and tablet. Using the E2000 which does not have external antenna's i am lucky if i get one bar.
    I live in a 3 story concrete house. Router is on the first floor in my bedroom. Before i did use a Linksys range extender but that thing was a b#tch to install correct and often gave me trouble using portable devices in the house.

    I must say i did oc the shit out of that router and did fiddle with same settings :D but looking at what i got then and now i would say they do help a bit.
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013
    MT Alex says thanks.
  13. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    That's one thing that irks me about a lot of router manufacturers. They ditched external antennas to make the routers look good and the only way to upgrade the coverage is to add an AP or use a range extender/repeater. At least Amped Wireless keeps external antenna on all their stuff. Thier USB adapters even can have the antennas upgraded!
  14. bmaverick

    bmaverick

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    283 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Honky Tonk Nashville, TN
    In the TP-LINK modem/router, does it have a menu dealing with transmitter to boost the signal strength? My Westell has that and so does my ATT. Remember not to set it at the maximum because in time it will burn out the unit. Typically on a power scale of 0-10, 8 is the ideal setting.
  15. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    I've looked at quite a few, and have my eye on a couple as an alternative if cheaper methods don't work.

    The documentation says it's a MIMO unit, but I'm not sure how to make that work in my favor.

    My router has the standard SMA connectors. It also says you are supposed to mount the Amped Wireless 6 feet in the air?

    I replaced an older Westell with this unit, and it does work much better. The device was defaulted at 100% signal strength.
  16. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    No you're not supposed to mount it 6ft in the air...where does it say that???
  17. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    I found it while poking around checking out reviews for it. Most of them are very positive, not sure what the troubles are with this dude.

    [​IMG]
  18. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,384 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,086
    Six feet in the air is not the same as six feet of the ground. ;)

    He meant it's not supposed to be on the floor. Six feet (or about 1.8 metres for us civilized folks) is a bit weird though.
  19. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,730 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,596
    Bah, semantics:p

    I updated my firmware, I'm going to go see if it made any difference with some Star Trek Voyager.
  20. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Putting your antenna on the ground is bad mmmkay.
  21. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    ^ lol. no. antennas are just antennas, nothing much. its not bad, its silly. like installing lights on the ground instead of the ceiling XD

    to power a more dbi antenna you will need a beefier driver/amplifier.

    these antennas work by changing the physical characteristics of the wave its outputting, i.e. the amplitude of the wave. more amplitude = more energy reqd, so you will need a better amplifier.


    a better idea is to place it at the corner of a room, and have a DIY parabolic reflector installed on it. cheap, wont cost more than 10$.

    this being said, i have cheap ass USB accesspoint that i use as a wifi transmitter and i can get signals upto 35ft away without drop in power or ping. this too through 12"thick brick mortar walls and without any parabola.
    MT Alex says thanks.
  22. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    5,888 (6.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,888
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    I bet you there is steel reinforcements in the concrete. You're most likely living in a metal cage that loves to absorb Wi-Fi signals.
  23. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Read this review:
    http://www.engadget.com/2012/04/06/...10000g-router-and-smart-repeater-hand/#title3

    The R10000G was able to penetrate thru walls and stuff that the resident's current router could not.

    Please note that they mention a repeater+router cost... but those aren't sold together like that you can find the router only for 109 off amazon.

    I have that router and it's awesome. I am able to stream youtube vids with very little effort 200 some feet away. Very powerful stuff.


    I plan on upgrading to thier .ac routers when they release em!!!
    MT Alex says thanks.
  24. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,476 (5.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    hello amped wireless saleswoman!

    j/k

    yeah, that router is beefy. but 200ft? lol.
  25. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,587 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    LOL DDD.....

    and yepperoonies and cheese I was able to stream vids 200 some ft away! The netgear wgr614 could only go 60ft tops for vid streaming.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page