1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Running a program twice?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by brandonwh64, Feb 22, 2010.

  1. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,821 (9.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I have been wondering this for a long time. is it possible to run a program twice at the same time. Like say im running steam and i wanted to log into another account but stay logged into my current one, is there a way to run steam two times at the same time?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,931 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    virtual desktop is how I ran multiples of the same programs ...
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,821 (9.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    What is a good one that would run steam twice?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,628 (0.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    328
    On the same steam account no, Maybe if you switch users within windows I can't see why not.
     
  5. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,821 (9.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Not the same steam account. two seperate accounts running at the same time?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,931 (2.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    i used the microsoft version they give out ... but that was also winXP ... not sure what operating system you are using ...
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,627 (11.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,880
    the point is, you cant run steam twice in the same OS.

    even if he did run it in a VMware, or on another physical machine - he doesnt get what he wants out of it (access to both friends lists in the steam overlay, or whatever he actually wants)
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,821 (9.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,267
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    yep what mussels said. that sucks! maybe they can come up with a way later on down the road with the next version of windows
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,627 (11.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,880
    its a limitation with the PROGRAM, not with windows.

    You can run 50 copies of GPU-Z if you want, for example.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page