1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Running GPU-Z turns off my screens immediateyl

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by khara, Apr 6, 2012.

  1. khara New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi. So I've got a Sapphire Radeon HD6950 2GB Flex Edition card. I've always had a problem with it running around 50°C idle, and today I wanted to run GPU-Z to see what shows up. As soon as I ran it, my monitors went into power-save mode, and I was forced to restart. This happened several months ago as well, but I gave up at that point.

    Any ideas what's going on?
  2. user21

    user21 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    282 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Peshawar
    Looks like you card needs power that is not provided by resource.
    Can you post your system specs?
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (5.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,615
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Hi Khara, and welcome to TPU :toast:
    Go into the UserCP and enter your system specs (don't forget to enable them so we can see them).
    We'll be happy to help once we have more information.
  4. khara New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Updated User CP With System specs, but I'll post them here too:

    ASRock Z68 Extreme4
    i7 2600k (not overclocked)
    Sapphire Radeon HD6950 2GB Flex Edition (I don't believe I have that driver installed that lets me use onboard video for video conversion, while using the dedicated card for games. I can't remember what it is called)
    8GB DDR3 RAM
    1TB WD HDD + OCZ Vertex 3 60GB cache drive
    Asus Xonar DX Sound card
    Antec TP750 power supply
    White NZXT Phantom case
    2X Dell U2211h (hooked up to radeon, not the onboard video)

    I don't think my card is lacking power, I play BF3 and Skyrim on full settings without any artifacting or power related issues.

    The issue is that my screens no longer receive a signal as soon as I turn on GPU-Z.
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2012
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    my guess is that gpuz somehow crashes your system. can you verify that this happens with the latest version? (0.6.0)

    do you have any exotic hardware in your system like an adaptec scsi controller?
  6. khara New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes, this happened using the latest version, and no I don't have anything exotic like you mentioned. I guess the two oddest things about my system would be the SSD caching (so I have to run my internal HDD & SSD in RAID), and the fact that I'm using 3rd party (Unified drivers) for the Xonar DX.


    I just ran it again and it didn't turn off my screens :S I did install CPU-Z earlier, after the first time it happened.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page