1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Running HTML questions and help

Discussion in 'Programming & Webmastering' started by [I.R.A]_FBi, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    Im doing an assignment where i have to hand code some html. Small question how do i at a cool icon at the top like TPU's power button with simple html?
     
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
  3. Wozzer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,133 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    England
    The Favicon, You mean?
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  4. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    yes, thanks a bundle!
     
  5. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    All you have to do is throw an icon in the top directory and name it favicon.ico the browser will look for it automatically.
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  6. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    thank you kind sir

    ...


    suppose i have this
    Code:
    <br>Please select your model here
    <br>
    <br>
    <br>
    
    <select>
    <option>Misubushi -- </option>
    <option>Honda -- </option>
    <option>Toyota -- </option>
    </select>
    
    and i want each option to be a hyperlink how do i do it?
     
  7. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,418 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    637
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Code:
    <select onChange="window.location=this[this.selectedIndex].value">
    	<option selected="selected">Select Yer Ride!</option>
    	<option value="mitsu.htm">Mitsubushi</option>
    	<option value="honda.htm">Honda</option>
    	<option value="toyota.htm">Toyota</option>
    </select>
    If this is an assignment, shouldn't you be listening in class to know how to do it? ;)
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    the thing is, i was in the class and i was a little distracted (the first thign is asked wasnt taught) the second was, but the lecturer emailed the document (html) he was using but damn yahoo inlined teh attachement and now i cant dissect the code to see what to do. also what he did didnt look like what u did :|
     
  9. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i have a site with frames (yes, i know dated but its whats in teh sylabbus) i have a top frame with the logo(not yet implemented) side frame with the naviagion menu

    Code:
    <html><head></head>
    <frameset cols="235,*" scrolling = "no" >
    <frame src="navbar.html">
    <frame src="main.html">
    </frameset>
    </html>
    how do i let all the links from navbar load in teh frame with main instead of making a new page for everything i want in a frame?
     
  10. Jacko28 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    67 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Does it have to be only Html, or can you use CSS aswell?
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  11. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    well mostly html ... i solved that problem but ive encountered another .. i want to confine that frame to a set size say like optimize it for a certain resolution how would i do that?
     
  12. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,562 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Use the iframe tag. You can set a specific height and width using it.

    Normal frames are always 100% on one dimension.
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    Like fordGT said, use an iframe tag, I forget how off-hand, but that's what I've always used for all of my websites. www.happyjousta.cjb.net is a site I had made back in high school and I have an iframe in that, take a look at my coding to see how it's done. keep in mind though that all of your links need to have the <a href=page.html target=iframe> for the link to work properly.


    EDIT:
    It's been so long that I forgot the tag for the iframe, but here's what I used back in the day
    <iframe frameborder=0 name=main width=550 height=300 src=main.html>
    the width and height can also be replaced with percentages rather than pixel dimensions.
     
  14. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    This code here

    Code:
    <html>
    <title>Upt'wn Motorsports: Honda Packages
    </title>
    
    <link rel="SHORTCUT ICON" href="images\icons\Cabriolet.gif">
    
    <body bgcolor = "#CCCCCC">
    <center>
    <table width="1000">
    <tr>
    <img src="images/banners/banner.jpg">
    </tr>
    <tr><table align="top" width="980">
    <td width="250"> 
    <table align="top">
    <tr>
    <a href="main.html" target="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_01.jpg"></a>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <a href="testimonials.html" target="main" ><img src="images\bars\bar_05.jpg"></a>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <a href="customercars.html" target="main" ><img src="images\bars\bar_07.jpg"></a>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <a href="services.html" target ="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_03.jpg"></a>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <a href="upgrades.html" target="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_02.jpg"></a>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <a href="otherservices.html" target="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_04.jpg"></a>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <a href="aboutus.html" target="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_08.jpg"></a>
    </tr>
    <tr>
    <a href="contactus.html" target="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_12.jpg"></a><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br>
    </tr>
    </table>
    </td>
    <td>
    <p><center><font face = "MS Sans Serif"> <h1>Upt'wn Motorsports Honda Packages</h1> </font></center>
    <br>
    <br>
    <br>
    <font face = "MS Sans Serif">Our team of mechanics have done and assisted in many joint ventures in tuning many models of Hondas. 
    Our Packages are as a result of many thousands of hours of reseach as well as careful consideration for bang for your buck. 
    Please select a model to see the packages avaialble for such a model
    
    <br>
    <br>
    <br>
    
    <select onChange="window.location=this[this.selectedIndex].value">
    	<option selected="honda.html">-- Select Your Ride! --</option>
    	<option value="kseries.html">-- K Series Honda --</option>
    	<option value="bseries.html">-- B Series Honda  --</option>
    	<option value="hseries.html">-- H Series Honda --</option>
    </select>
    </font>
    </p>
    
    
    </tr>
    </td>
    </table>
    <center><font face = "MS Sans Serif" size = "1">Site best viewed with <a href="http://www.mozilla.com/firefox?from=sfx&uid=0&t=318"><img border="0" alt="Spreadfirefox Affiliate Button" src="http://sfx-images.mozilla.org/affiliates/Buttons/firefox3/FF3o80x15_square.gif" /></a></center>
    </center>
    </body>
    </html>

    gives me this

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    It is caused by the breaks just after contact us, depending on the amount of breaks used, there will be a huge space above the left or right ... is there a way to finesse everything to be just below the banner instead of hit and missing with all of those breaks?
     
  15. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    anyone
     
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,562 (6.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,501
    Location:
    IA, USA
    a) You're missing the head tag around title and link.
    b) Center is depreciated, use div instead:
    HTML:
    <div align="center"></div>
    Or, even more "proper"
    HTML:
    <div style="text-align: center;"></div>
    c) Tabbing is critical (aka nesting)--makes your code legible.
    d) "tr" (Table Row) may not contain anything except "td" (Table Division).
    e) All you are missing is an valign="top" in a TD somewhere...
    f) "font" is also depreciated, use span instead:
    HTML:
    <span style="font-family: MS Sans Serif;"></span>
    The code below meets all criteria above. I cannot test it very well because I don't have the pictures...
    HTML:
    <html>
    <head>
    	<title>Upt'wn Motorsports: Honda Packages</title>
    	<link rel="SHORTCUT ICON" href="images\icons\Cabriolet.gif">
    </head>
    <body bgcolor = "#CCCCCC">
    	<div style="text-align: center;">
    		<table align="top" width="1000">
    			<tr>
    				<td colspan="2"><img src="images/banners/banner.jpg"></td>
    			</tr>
    			<tr>
    				<td valign="top" width="250"> 
    					<table>
    						<tr><td><a href="main.html" target="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_01.jpg"></a></td></tr>
    						<tr><td><a href="testimonials.html" target="main" ><img src="images\bars\bar_05.jpg"></a></td></tr>
    						<tr><td><a href="customercars.html" target="main" ><img src="images\bars\bar_07.jpg"></a></td></tr>
    						<tr><td><a href="services.html" target ="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_03.jpg"></a></td></tr>
    						<tr><td><a href="upgrades.html" target="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_02.jpg"></a></td></tr>
    						<tr><td><a href="otherservices.html" target="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_04.jpg"></a></td></tr>
    						<tr><td><a href="aboutus.html" target="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_08.jpg"></a></td></tr>
    						<tr><td><a href="contactus.html" target="main"><img src="images\bars\bar_12.jpg"></a></td></tr>
    					</table>
    				</td>
    				<td valign="top" style="text-align: center; font-family: MS Sans Serif;">
    					<p>
    						<h1>Upt'wn Motorsports Honda Packages</h1><br />
    						<br />
    						<br />
    						Our team of mechanics have done and assisted in many joint ventures in tuning many models of Hondas.<br />
    						Our Packages are as a result of many thousands of hours of reseach as well as careful consideration for bang for your buck.<br />
    						Please select a model to see the packages avaialble for such a model<br />
    						<br />
    						<br />
    						<select onChange="window.location=this[this.selectedIndex].value">
    							<option selected="honda.html">-- Select Your Ride! --</option>
    							<option value="kseries.html">-- K Series Honda --</option>
    							<option value="bseries.html">-- B Series Honda  --</option>
    							<option value="hseries.html">-- H Series Honda --</option>
    						</select>
    					</p>
    				</td>
    			</tr>
    		</table>
    	</div>
    </body>
    </html>
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    god bless, wish i could give you more than one thanks.

    Tabbing is a must.
     
  18. JayD239 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Brrr, tables to define a layout. Usually better to learn to position div's, this will blow away you're teachers mind. But I understand if you're not really up to that right now ;)

    Just 2 more easy tips
    Add a doctype on the very first line, to make it w3c-correct html
    Code:
    <!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
    Validate your website, this propably is the first thing your teacher will check
    http://validator.w3.org/
     
    [I.R.A]_FBi says thanks.
  19. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    i already presented it yesterday .. but im goign to email this copy to him then i redo it and let him see it.
     
  20. OzzmanFloyd120

    OzzmanFloyd120

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    3,047 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    Pontaic Michigan
    What was your grade on the project?
     
  21. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    I got a 78%
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page