1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Club House

Discussion in 'techPowerUp! Club Forum' started by ShadowFold, Apr 29, 2008.

  1. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    You may. Soon. ;)
     
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Co-op stalker would be so bad ass.. I really hope you guys can get it working good!!
     
  3. flclisgreat

    flclisgreat New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    658 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    so, any way to "transfer" save from 1.0 to 1.5 or whatever teh latest patch is for SOC
     
  4. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Nope..
     
  5. flclisgreat

    flclisgreat New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    658 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    WHAT? i'm almost done with the game on 1.0. owell no patching for me i guess. i have an odd bug aswell, no cross hairs without being zoomed in :/
     
  6. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Just finish it and patch up. I didn't patch up SHoC until 1.06 because I wanted my saves!
     
  7. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Does that have Co op?
     
  9. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Yep. Talk to an NPC, ignore the bad grammar.
     
  10. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    EDIT: NVM I already have it installed with 1.05 :) Gonna get on now.
     
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Oh is it just NPC coop.. I was hoping for internet :ohwell:
     
  12. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Too hard, don't have SDK, GSC tried and failed.
     
  13. imperialreign

    imperialreign New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,043 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    909
    Location:
    Sector ZZ₉ Plural Z Alpha
    any more feedback?
     
  14. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Clear Sky needs a npc follow mod so bad..
     
  15. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
  16. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    LOL!

    That's cheating!

    XD
     
  17. Ahhzz

    Ahhzz

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Messages:
    2,171 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    702

    :roll::roll::roll: Gods, what else would you need???? :laugh::laugh::laugh:

    Running a Trader mod (to keep them from dying.. I'll see if it imbalances too much, I just hated losing the Loner trader in Garbage to mutant spawn...they nps's are soooo stupid :nutkick:), running a couple of patch mods (mechanic, and another), running a time tweak mod (but not using it this time thru), better textures, better lighting, better scopes, real weapon names.... Think that's about it...


    Third time thru... First time, things went haywire, and I got stuck in a permanent emission..second time, the mobs were stuck in a permanent emission (all huddled together everywhere I went, in a line. Had to save and reload to get the vendors to respawn for me :shadedshu) and when I got to the lab, the stupid scientist door was locked, and the only way I could get it open was to kill all the zombies AND all the green (then yellow, then red hahah) guys around *sigh*:banghead:

    third time I actually had to edit someone else's mod...some conflict or other and it couldn't find an actor...had to 'tweak' the xml file heheh but everything seems to be rolling smoothly. Headed out to Cordon, Garbage, and the Valley tonight :)

    Oh yeah, one more mod, a third person camera view mod :) very nice when I just want to see a little more of my surroundings, or get a look at myself. Sux for shooting tho heheh.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2008
  18. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Anyone have a save at the bar I can borrow? I need to test out a new feature... If you have a high rating (e.g. veteran) that'd help... (inew feature is to do with the arena)
     
  19. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I have a Oblivion Lost save where I am at bar but I am only like 20 mins into it. I am just now playing OL too, its pretty fun!
     
  20. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    I will join, i have both Shadow of Chernobyl and Clear Sky(got it a couple days ago!):rockout:
     
  21. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    How you liking Clear Sky?
     
  22. ChromeDome

    ChromeDome New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    670 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    i'm getting Clear Sky today! :D

    what do i have to look forward to?

    also, can someone take a look at my system specs and recommend some graphics settings right out of the gate? i would like to run the game minimum 30-40fps with smooth framerates

    thanks
     
  23. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Anyone have a save at Veteran level or higher in SHOC? 1.0005 if you can. (To test my mod)
     
  24. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Try Full Dynamic(the one under DX10) with all the sliders full, all the sun ray, ssao and sun quality to low(with them on high it makes no diff quality wise and helps FPS alot!) no aniositropic filters and no AA(unless you want it) the grass density bar to none(makes the sprites bigger, whoopdy doo.. still looks ugly), and get this mod

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showpost.php?p=1003105&postcount=170

    adds sunrays to game for all day instead of just 6:00AM to 8:00AM!

    And this mod is optional, it kinda balances it and lets you sprint longer and you start with a better gun and artifact detector.
    http://stalker.filefront.com/file/Easy_Start_Detector;93884
     
    ChromeDome says thanks.
  25. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,067 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    308
    I've just added a page about fixing some anomalies and also increasing shadow resolution in the game, if anyone is having issues:

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=74160


    I have to disagree here slightly. While for Vista users, you might as well use DX10, some sliders should not be at full, as they make little or very little difference to IQ and yet cost a noticeable amount of performance.
    Check the two pictures below, to set your visuals appropriatley.

    Here, distance detail is set to two clicks over, as there's not often a moment in the game where you can see beyond that (if there is, it's less than 5% of your play time and if it really bothers you, move it up one notch), and you're just throwing away frames for nothing. The same is true of lighting distance although the degredation of performance is not near as bad. The next big one, is as Shadow mentioned, sun related, but it's the Sun Rays you, which should be no higher than "medium."
    Grass density, user preference, though performance doesn't seem to go either way too much.

    You can ignore the AntiAliasing in DX10. So set it to 0.
    Also, you don't have to use Vsync.


    There's not really any configuration files(like with Crysis), that will make or break performance. Most of them are more about image preference as well as possibly sorting out some kinks or glitches.


    It seems rather silly to suggest he get a mod that causes sun rays to be more persistent, when A) He's looking to increase performance, something which you suggest in B) To turn the quality down :)

    ??

    Lastly, don't forget the dual/quad core affinity trick.

    When the game is running, (best to use a FPS counter the first time you do it, to make sure..)Alt-tab or CTRL ALT DEL> Bring up TaskManger. Scroll down to the XrEngine.exe and right click to bring up it's menu. Select "affinity." Uncheck all boxes except "Core 0." Do not close the Task Manager. Alt-tab back into the game, check your fps, it should rise ever so slightly(maybe for some it wont). Alt-tab or CTRL ALT DELT again, and return to the affinity menu for the XrEngine. Now tick all your remaining cores. Close Task Manager, and Alt-tab into the game. Your fps should rise by a few, sometimes several or higher depending on the in game situation area.

    This DOES work, but it doesn't ALWAYS work the first time. Sometimes I have to do it twice in a row;
    It's definatley worth it though
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 18, 2008
    ChromeDome says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page