1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

S.T.A.L.K.E.R. Must Die!!!

Discussion in 'Games' started by ChaoticBlankness, May 12, 2007.

  1. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    Talk about an addicting and visually appealing in-game experience with more bugs than ANY OTHER GAME!

    I'm absolutely hooked on the experience, I just wish it would last more than a few mins here and there without a complete system lock-up. I've even tried using the latest patch, and have turned all settings to the lowest possible.... and it still crashes! :banghead:

    I just want to find strelok..... that's all.
    Last edited: May 12, 2007
  2. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Join the club. My copy crashes more than there are crashes in a destruction derby. I found out very quickly though that to help prevent crashing, uninstall the game completely, delete its folder and any game saves and other STALKER game related content there may be, defrag your HDD, install STALKER again, move straight to the latest patch, then launch the game. Once you done that configure any game settings and controls prior to starting a new game, once the changes have been made and saved, exit the game then start it again. That should keep crashes down to a minimum (expect a crash every 2-3hrs or so after you followed those steps)
  3. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    Uninstall eh. Well, goodbye what little progress I made in game. This will be my 5th restart... :cry:
  4. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Sucks dont it? Ironically STALKER was much more stable for me completely unpatched. I really think bugger all in-game testing of the engine was done before it was released, as a result its coding is absolutely horrible.
  5. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..
    For me 1.0003 was a lifesaver. The game was absolutely unplayable with out it.

    I guess you were one of the "luckier" ones, if you can really call it that all things considered.
  6. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    I should DL that patch then an give it a bash, the 1.01 patch was terrible for me, I was lucky to get 10 mins of play out of it before a crash.
  7. ktr

    ktr

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    7,407 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    687
    i hear this game is really bad on vista...
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    You cant blame STALKER for that, Vista is a bad OS full stop right now.
  9. mikey8684

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    423 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA
    Its your Vista dude .....

    I've read a few different post on a few sites and alot of people are complaining coz they've got Quad-Core CPUs, 4gb ram and 8800GTX SLi and still getting very shitty performance and apparently the 64 bit version is heaps worse than the 32 bit version of Vista according to these others guys.

    Alot of them have suggested to THQ to go away for like a month or so and work on optimization for higher end hardware ...... good luck to that ..... lol


    Me on the other hand ... I have finished it twice and still enjoy it and my game has never crashed on me .... I keep updating to the latest "Faiakes Mod" from "FileFront" ..... fricken sweet dude, the latest one has the new horror mod which adds heaps of fog and turns the dogs and wild boar things into zombies and also adds more monsters to all areas.

    Heres the link if anyone is interested in modding there game -

    http://stalker.filefront.com/files/Stalker/Mods;3785

    The mod I mentioned is in the Singleplayer section.

    But back to the subject ..... maybe try re-installing XP and see if it fixes your problems.

    P.S. I've attatched a pic of the zombies and the list of stuff in the Faiakes Mod up to date.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 12, 2007
  10. Conti027

    Conti027

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2007
    Messages:
    1,376 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    85
    Location:
    Edmonds, Washington
    i have Vista and a 8800GTX and i havnt had one crash since day one even in beta but it was bad when i had XP i crashes probly every 10-15mins in glad i dont have XP anymore p.o.s.

    but there are alot of problem with stalker working with ATI cards
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Well I never had it crash on me :confused:

    Cuz the game does make your comp work hard my card gets as hot as the fuzzy dice makes it :wtf: and it uses alot or mem
  12. ChaoticBlankness

    ChaoticBlankness New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2006
    Messages:
    492 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    A small crate floating in the Pacific..

    I'm sorry let me clarify for you. I have a dual boot set-up, XP Pro SP2 and Vista x64 Ultimate. I do most of my work/play on XP including S.T.A.L.K.E.R..

    I did my homework before buying the game, I knew the risks of crashing and horrible vista support... but I wanted to play it anyways.

    So yeah, it's on my XP partition NOT Vista.
  13. mikey8684

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    423 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA
    From all the different things happening and the huge combinations of hardware/OS I think the performance of S.T.A.L.K.E.R. is really luck of the draw.

    It seems too hard to pin point and OS or piece of hardware .... but THQ do desperately need to work on optimization.
  14. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Good example: just enable bloom lighting in combination with another lighting method (g1 or something its called) and watch STALKER slow down to a slideshow on the most powerful of hardware.
  15. jaxxxon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    174 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Wales
    i use bloom on my x1900xt no probs, never crashes either, guess i must be lucky
  16. mikey8684

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    423 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Infront Of PC ... Perth, WA
    This is what I use and dont get any crashes and I run it maxed @ 1280 x 1024


    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Ultra_graphic_mode_v1.1 Mod by Fan and Raff uploaded by aNoN_


    **Description**
    This is a modified user.ltx file that setting the game engine to ultra levels.

    #.Features
    - Bloom
    - improved Bump-Mapping
    - R1 Lights
    - GI is enabled and tweaked to not causing any slowdowns
    - Emulated Temporal Supersampling
    - Improved Bump-Mapping
    - Improved Parallax-Mapping
    - Radiocity
    - Refractions
    - Better reflections
    - Dynamic Sky

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    You can get it here if anyone is interested -

    http://stalker.filefront.com/file/Ultra_Graphics_Mode;78200

    Check out the Screenies first just in case you waste a DL (though its only 3.7mb)

    :rockout: :pimp: :respect: :D

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page