1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Saitek Cyborg R.A.T. 9 mouse - a user perspective (lotsa pix)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by twilyth, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. twilyth Guest

    UPS delivered my mouse today - cold and dead. After letting it warm up to room temp, I gently opened the package and here is what I found.

    I've archived the full resolution version of the pix here. It's 115 meg in winrar format. Let me know if you need a zip file.

    This isn't really going to be a review since I'm not a gamer. What I'm interested in is how adaptable the mouse is. Can I adjust the components so that it's comfortable and feels like an extension of my hand. And this is going to be purely subjective. I have high hopes for this gadget but I'll try to be completely honest. That means I'll probably be wrong and end up correcting myself about certain observations later - since that how it usually works with me. I'll try to get it right the first time.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 18, 2010
  2. travva

    travva New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    349 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Location:
    Hampton, VA USA
    that's a sick mouse!
     
  3. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,952 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    :eek: i love the design, so cyborg, sometimes its kinda freaking to have it on the table :D i hope it wont bite your hand :respect:
     
  4. cyriene

    cyriene New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    183 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Miami
    So how does it feel to use? I'm thinking of getting one of these
     
  5. twilyth Guest

    I'm working up to it. I'm actually going to read the manual on this first - OK, at least skim it. Plus it's got some buttons I probably have to program. Give me a couple more days.

    I will say that it is very hefty. One of the pix below shows the weights. Each metal disk is about 5.5 grams (don't ask how I know) so 5 of them (in another pic) are 25 total. Plus there is the steel skid pad.

    I tried to screw the left side panel down but it already came in the tightest position. I'll experiment with having it out farther.

    I also screwed that panel as far forward as it would go so I had the feel on the thumb buttons. Ooooo. It's just perfect. All I have to do is rock my thumb back and forth. No stretching or reaching. This could be a problem but it feels very nice.

    This post should be worth your while since I'm showing how the mouse works, where the set screws are, etc.
    ============================
    Last time around I neglected to show you everything that was in the black inner case. Too late for that now, but here are the items that were missing - the 2 batteries.

    These puppies seem to charge up in no time. I would say definitely less than an hour and possibly less than a half hour.

    [​IMG]

    For some reason I couldn't get the set screw in focus. This controls the in/out movement of the left panel. Out is wider.

    [​IMG]

    Here is the first thumbscrew on the rear post. It's hard to see, but it's a tiny allen wrench. The next pic might give better detail.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Bare rear post

    [​IMG]

    Here are the weights that go on the rear post. They are held down with the spring and washer 'assembly', I guess you'd call it. The black thumb screw secures it. Washer sits on the weights.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. SonDa5

    SonDa5

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,645 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    344
    Regardless of how it performs it looks like master craftsman made it. Very nice. :toast:
     
  7. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,845 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    Cosmetically - the mouse looks Very futureristic. and it could have one of the best gaming sensors in the world but IMO the thing that REALLY puts me off is the software used to configure DPI levels and of course the lack of feedback to let you know what DPI setting you are in while gaming Unlike Logitech - where you have 2 buttons to switch DPI up n down. the Saitek has only one button and doesnt really have a clear indicator which DPI mode its on asside from the lighting on the button.

    I owned a Saitek Cyborg PM4200 gaming mouse - i was totally blown away by the looks, ergonomics and 'feel' of the mouse when i was using it. It was meant to replace my Logitech G7 which In the end it didnt and i only used the mouse for my laptop, with light gaming where DPI wasnt that important.

    I dont think i'l ever get another saitek Mouse. the joysticks/pads are the best though
     
  8. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,925 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    @twilyth
    do you know what the 9 adds that the 7 doesn't have? i have the 7 and your 9 looks pretty much identical

    @freedom too true. the hardware is great but i absolutely hate the software. they also don't let you customize the fine aim or dpi switch.
    as for the dpi setting, it has 4 lights on the left that show which level it is at. you have to know what the levels are though.
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,845 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    but it doesnt have a button to switch down - you can only switch up on the fly, call me anal about it but I dont like being able to only switch up - Logitech have a clear indicator what profile your in - and it changes as you switch up n down - it can hold a maximum of 5 DPI settings per profile - In gaming mode you know your at 3200DPI because the redlight on the mouse is maxed out so you know there isnt anymore above what you set - and you can shift down.

    for instance - you use 3200DPI for running n gunning with a SMG/MG then you want to switch to a sniperifle which requires LESS DPI - like 1000. You have to keep clicking the button until you reach that DPI setting and even then you can only tell by a light instead of an indicator which makes the whole thing a waste of time and can possibly get you killed because what DPI mode you are in is anyones guess with a Saitek.
     
    digibucc says thanks.
  10. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    767
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    badass looking mouse... but id never get one just so i dont have to explain why my mouse looks like that when i have someone over for the night... haha
     
  11. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,461 (4.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,264
    could this be useful to non-gamers? maybe a nice mouse for a large linux developer spread?
     
  12. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,419 (2.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Where do you put R2-D2?
    [​IMG]
    Just joking...:laugh:

    Nice mouse, and congrats on your new pet.:toast:
    I hope it lives up to your expectations.

    Keep us updated.:)
     
    MT Alex says thanks.
  13. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,925 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    i understand. that does suck

    to get pas this i just repeat settings. i use only 2 levels and assign them twice so every time i press the button it is switching between them.
     
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,845 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    and thats where it loses out in functionality (yes i use all 5 DPI settings. I like to be ready for anything i may enounter. I go from 2600 in 300-400DPI increments) and high DPI is good for the twitch - an ancient jedi art of just thinking about killing the person in front and subconcously moving the mouse a milimeter to the left and pressing the fire button without even have to think
     
  15. Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Bjorn_Of_Iceland

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,175 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375
    what? no beer opener? wth!
     
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,845 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    thats what teeth are for!!
     
  17. twilyth Guest

    Listen up Haters!!! (FE-kidding dude)

    You can't have tactile feedback on this mouse for dpi because you can set the x and y axis dpi seperately - FOR ALL 3 MODES!!! How do you convey that through feed back? We have these things called brains for like . . . you know . . . remembering shit. :p IOW, bite me. ;) :toast:

    One potential problem I've noticed is that hitting the mode button involves a sideways movement of your index finger. And since it's requires quite a bit more than a light tap, you find yourself gripping the mouse with your thumb. That could result in depressing the thumb and or aiming button inadvertently.

    regard the RAT7. I'm not sure what the difference is except that the 7 is wired and the 9 is wireless so you have the usb receiver and charging station and batteries. Functionally I would say that they are identical.

    edit: this might be helpful regard dpi settings. The aiming button will decrease the dpi to the setting you specify when you need very slow mouse movement.
     
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,845 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,338
    well - So long as your happy thats all that matters - IMO its like their trying to build a warp drive to throw themselves into deep space out of wax or other weak materials.

    I have read a few reviews -- and in all in all - the results are a bit of a mixed bag - Its like Marmite - you either love it or you dont - it looks cool but i cant help think that Saitek are trying to over complicate things without first focusing on heart of every peice of hardware..the software which manipulates the hardware.

    I will say no more as people will think im trolling which im not - its just my personal opinion of saitek mouses.
     
  19. twilyth Guest

    I haven't loaded the software but I will keep an eye out for any deficiencies - thank you.

    As far as the hardware goes though, this is a very solidly built mouse. Everything from the set screws to the plastic to the metal buttons seem top notch. And I have to say, I think I'm going to like having something with a little heft to it.
     
  20. twilyth Guest

    Free was right about the software. I was using the Microsoft Sidewinder X8 and the Intellipoint software is infinitely better. You can set app specific functions and macros for specific buttons for example. There's no option like that here that I can find. You can assign actions to each key for each mode and I guess if you don't mind changing modes to access them, that could work, but then you're limited to 3 apps. There's no reason it couldn't be context sensitive.

    This could be an issue since I do use a couple of keys for specific purposes in specific apps. It's not a huge deal, but I can see how it would be for a lot of people. It's hard to imagine Saitek having a good excuse for this. It's a little like running Win 3.1 on your water cooled hex core.

    I also found a very annoying bug (although I have no intention of testing it again to see). I tried to program the thumb wheel, which doesn't seem to serve any purpose I've been able to discover, to emulate cntl-right arrow. It showed up in the programming box ok but when I went to execute, it kept feeding right arrows at the typematic rate. Basically prevented me from doing anything using the mouse. The only thing that worked were keyboard shortcuts. Very, very screwed up.

    One nice feature is the light in the mode button. It changes color depending on the mode - red -> blue -> pink(??? can't be sure). The problem is that because of the way the panel for the mode button is angled, you can't see it easily unless you are pretty much on top of it. In mode 2 (blue) it's especially hard to see because it's a fairly dark blue. Maybe 'on top of it' isn't the right description, but at least the way I use a mouse, I would have to physically take my hand off and lean to the side to even catch a glimpse.

    That's it for today. I'm a little bummed out so I think I'll give it a rest for now.
     
  21. Mad Catz Rich Mad Catz Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Hi All,

    My name is Richard Neville and I work at Mad Catz - the Cyborg range is what I mainly look after, so full disclosure out of the way, I'm here to reply to one misconception:

    The R.A.T. does have a DPI up and down button. That rocker behind the scroll wheel goes up and down so you can easily go up and down your DPI modes which, as Twylith said, are clearly indicated on the wing of the mouse using four LEDs to show which of the 4 DPI settings you're in.

    If you've got any questions just let me know.
     
  22. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,952 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    actually i give :toast: for the design, it looks promise enough and it would cool to have it on your table, but coz it focused on high end gaming stuff the price its pretty premium :D
     
  23. Black Haru

    Black Haru

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    1,148 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    287
    Location:
    Indiana
    thanks, I was about to post about this.

    I have the rat7, and so far, I love it.

    I only game at one setting (although that changes ever few months) currently that setting is 3000 dpi even. however, I would like to mention that the dpi switch is much better on this than say, the Razer Lachesis. (my old mouse) also, I've heard complaints about the thumb buttons in previous threads (too far back), but I have zero issue, and I have fairly large hands.

    Keep with the picks, let s know about battery life etc, this might be my next mouse.
     
  24. twilyth Guest

    IDK. The software is sort of an issue for me and I'm not sure what I want to do. Right now I'm back to using the X8.

    Can you do context sensitive commands with the programmable buttons? Did I miss something? Is there some special kung-fu to actually doing the programming?

    And what the hell is that thumb wheel for? I expected the default action to be scroll left/right. That's logical - to me at least. But in regular apps, it doesn't seem to do anything.

    I'm going to have to wait until I'm in a much better mood to follow up on this. Doing it now would be too forced. Sorry to go all emo on you. Just being honest.
     
  25. mrsemi

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    658 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Thanks for the review. Question for you. I know your'e not a gamer but the toggle on the mouse that changes the "modes", is it somewhat user friendly?

    Saitek made a pro gamer gaming pad that had a button where your palm rested making it very easy to use multiple functions.

    Essentially it worked like a shift key, palm down on that button and pressing another in this scenario would turn 5 buttons into 10. Something tells me this is not the case and that toggle is more for swapping from game profile to another but just wanted to confirm.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page