1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Same Win 7 update over and over?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Bow, Apr 20, 2013.

  1. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,346 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    For 3 days now I am asked to install:Security Update for Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Service Pack 1 Redistributable Package (KB2538242)

    I Have installed it and restarted every time.
    Any ideas why??
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,768 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    561
    Location:
    New York
    try just installing the newest Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Service Pack 1 after uninstalling the original.
    Bow says thanks.
  3. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,883 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Its always done that...Run cCleaner and try again....I remember FordGtconcept telling me how to fix it but I can't remember what he said.
    Bow says thanks.
  4. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,288 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Have you tried this: Open the Windows Update troubleshooter

    This troubleshooter fixed a similar problem I had with a security update that wanted to install over and over; however, it was not actually needed, as it was already there.

    It may reset the windows update databases/caches, sometimes this is needed for the fix.
    This may reset your update history... this means you will not show an update history in windows update after the fix.
    Bow says thanks.
  5. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,346 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,346 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    Spoke to soon :banghead:
    Any other Ideas?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,621 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,809
    Location:
    Oregon
    Manually download and install the update
    95Viper and Bow say thanks.
  8. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    4,288 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,531
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    No problem...

    Try Jetster's post.

    Yep here is the link to the update: Microsoft Visual C++ 2005 Service Pack 1 Redistributable Package MFC Security Update

    And, if that does not work... Try these:
    Fix the problem with Microsoft Windows Update that is not working
    How do I reset Windows Update components?
    How to get the latest version of the Windows Update Agent

    Is it giving any error codes in the history windows or failed or just successful?

    After googling around it seems a lot of people have that problem with that KB2538242.
    Bow says thanks.
  9. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,346 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    No error codes. I have tried ever thing suggested but I still have the issue. I tried to manually install but it zips right through it and it doesn't really seem to install anything. vcredist_x86.EXE
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,621 (2.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,809
    Location:
    Oregon
    Then I think there is a place you can check to not download just that one update. I forget its been so long sense this has happen to me
    Bow says thanks.
  11. Bow

    Bow

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,346 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    937
    Location:
    Way Upstate New York
    I can hide it, but now I have BF3 problems cant l join a game. not sure if its related or not.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    11,959 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,337
    ive had issues with some windows updates stating they failed install but come with Same KB number, i just remove the one off the HDD and go through the update process, once installed the problem is fixed. but with BF 3 im unsure
    Bow says thanks.
  13. bettywhite New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2013
    Messages:
    3 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi there,
    firstly run your antivirus. this problem must be there due to any bugs or viruses. then UN-install the software and install it again.
  14. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,321 (7.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,780
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Please fill in your system specs to verify you're not a spammer please. You have a dubious name, and generic advice/problems I've seen all too much of lately.
  15. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,821 (4.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,479
    Agreed. The first post made on April 15 looks genuine, but this user never came back to the other members about it, like a genuine user would.
  16. jboydgolfer

    jboydgolfer

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    527 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Amherst , MA
    For what it's worth. I had almost (if Not the same) issue. I just ran the "update" feature in MsE, and it cleared it right up. Also are You CERTAIN that it's that EXACT update?? there are multiple ones that start with
    "Security Update" I know I BARELY ever, if not NEVER read what those damn updates are. My point being that it could just be MsE doing it's update thing. Either way, I hope you resolVe your Problem.
    Regards

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page