1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

SAMSUNG GDDR4 Memory Selected by AMD for the Radeon HD 2000 Series

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jul 1, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Samsung Electronics announced today that its 80nm GDDR4 high-speed graphics memory chip is being used in both the 1GB ATI Radeon HD 2900 XT and the 256MB ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT graphics processing cards. The 1GB card has the widest bus in the industry designed for full-performance, high dynamic range (HDR) rendering in PCs.
    said Vijay Sharma, Director, Product Marketing, AMD Graphics Products Group. Samsung’s GDDR4 memory devices are now in mass production and will appear widely as soon as the new ATI graphics cards hit the market.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Samsung
  2. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    HD2900XT F1 edition? :laugh:... The HD2900XT was really bottlenecked by the memory anyway so this is a nice change.
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    It's a nice move but this may only cost you more in the end. IMHO this card with a ATI Tool may in fact be a serious competitor...
    Is this what I think it is? :confused:
  4. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    GDDR4 costs the same to manufacture.
  5. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Good thing Im waiting. Id love to get one of the 1GB DDR4 2900 XTs.
  6. yogurt_21

    yogurt_21

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    Messages:
    4,302 (1.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    541
    Location:
    AZ
    damn anybody notice the .6ns, thats 3GHZ rated!
  7. hv43082 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,445 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    93
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    So the main question is: Will it be faster than 8800GTX?
  8. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    lol.. soon as i get atitool working.. ill let ya know if i manage anything near to 3ghz :p

    edit: wonder what would be a safe voltage for these chips?
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2007
  9. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    You need to hurry up I ve been waitting so what do you get with settings in your specs in 3DM06, 05 etc ?
  10. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    i know i know.. its killing me.. with everything stock i managed just over 10k in 3dmark 06, now im even having problems getting 3dmark to run since i reformatted my pc the other day. it hangs on the 3dmark loading screen. WHY HAS SOME EVIL DIETY CURSED ME SO!!

    I even had one boot where atitool ACTUALLY WORKED, then never again.. think it was to drive me insane, coz it happened just b4 i had to leave for work, when i got back it was a no go :(

    I promise ill get results soon as i find a solution, if any1 of u guys does find anything that will help please let me know, ive already spoken to wiz about it..
  11. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,551 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    Dont you got to change something in 3DM06 to run it with the 2900's
  12. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    There's a file that needs to be renamed for '06 to work. It hangs trying to read the card clocks.


    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Futuremark\MSC and rename the file "direcpll.dll" to anything you desire.
  13. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    oh man... i wish i had known that... thought it was a bad download, so deleted ready for downloading again.. ffs.. oh well, at least i know now :D
  14. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
  15. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Actually no they do not cost the same. Current HD 2900XT 1024 cards are using BC09. The BC06 are the low yield and expensive compared to the BC09 currently on the video card.
    Review details here
  16. mandelore

    mandelore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,251 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    Eastcoast what do you know of the overclocking potential of the gddr4 ram chips?, you appear to know a fair bit about them :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page