1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Samsung Green PC3-12800 30 nm 1.35v Low-Profile Dual Channel Kit.

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by cadaveca, Feb 28, 2012.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
    Proph3t, Dj-ElectriC, 1c3d0g and 16 others say thanks.
  2. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,555 (1.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    952
    Will all the enthusiast kits transition to 30nm in a few months? Seems like if they don't samsung could undercut the whole enthusiast market.
     
  3. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    nice, where to actually them in europe? (Germany/UK that will ship to the DK)
     
  4. R_1

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    449 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    That memory was available in US even before Christmas 2011. So most of enthusiast just don't know about it. Some Asian guys did first reviews long time ago.
     
  5. DaC

    DaC

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    608 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    São Paulo - SP - Brasil
    Nice Job!
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  6. hv43082

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,459 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    Location:
    Orange County, CA and Miami, FL
    Where did you find them for $30 OP? Cheapest I could find was at Microcenter for $47.
     
  7. xenocide

    xenocide

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2,142 (1.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Yea I think he mixed up the price of the 4GB (2GBx2) and 8GB (4GBx2) kits.
     
  8. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,181 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,667
    im pretty sure micron,elpida, and Hynix are already pushing 30nm to the shelves. I seen something about a month back about Elpida testing is 20nm production already
     
  9. AlienIsGOD

    AlienIsGOD

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,462 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,507
    Where in Canada can you buy these?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Ah, you know, that's the price for a single stick on the samsung website. You can find the singlesided 2 GB sticks for less than $15.

    They can be purchased from Samsung directly:

    http://www.samsung.com/us/computer/memory-storage/MV-3V4G3/US

    And, it looks like the price dropped a little bit on the Samsung site, too.

    Samsung has 20nm products on the go too(listed as under development). When I heard the kit was coming, I thought it might be 20nm!

    full listing and spec sheets here:

    http://www.samsung.com/global/busin...te/Greenmemory/Products/DDR3/DDR3_Lineup.html
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2012
  11. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,827 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    These things rock! If I ever am able to upgrade from LGA775 and get DDR3 then I'm for sure getting these and doing 1.45 V @2133 MHz 11-11-11-28. That really seems like a good OC.
     
  12. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
    hmm that's not for europe ._.
     
  13. revin

    revin

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    673 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    Thank you for the in depth detail's
    Excellent work, as always TPU Rocks!!!!
    Thank you to all who helped me get these screaming!
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,978 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    US
    I have 4 sets of these and they rock, and to think samsung have 20nm to come too later ( hopefully for desktop )

    They worked great in my 2 intel setup ( 775\1155 ) and my AM3 setup.

    And according to there site they are rated 1.35v to 1.50v.

    Love the review and if any thing the packaging is the 1st thing about them lol.
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  15. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    from the listing on the Samsung site, yes 20nm products will come in desktop sticks too, but it looks liek they will all be 1.35v, although there should be LP and normal PCBs, too.


    I went through every spec sheet, seems 1.5 V sticks are the normal-sized PCB, and the 1.35 V is the LP PCB.
     
  16. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775
  17. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,978 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,710
    Location:
    US
    Even their spec sheet on their site as changed too as they used to say 1.35-1.50v

    All so remember that Samsungs warranty on this ram is 8 years and 3 months.
    http://www.samsung.com/us/support/service/warranty/MV-3V4G3D/US
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  18. SOGOKU New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Does anybody knows where to buy this memory in Europe ?
     
  19. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Wow, a lot there is changing it seems, nearly half the spec sheets now give 403 errors at hte moment, but when i checked on Monday, they worked fine.

    Also, it's a "Limited Lifetime" warranty...i know it says 99 months, but...lifetime is lifetime!(considers lifetime may be product lifetime)

    Unfortunately, not at the moment. I did mention as a con that this kit has limited availability depending on where in the world you are.
     
    AsRock says thanks.
  20. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,432 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    775

    oc.uk got them cadaveca: http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-017-SA

    i wrote that if u scroll up ^^;
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  21. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Hah, it wasn't showing yet, page hadn't update, thanks for the link, i think quite a few people may use it! ;)

    I like how that listing adds "superpi stable too!".


    Uh, if it doesn't pass superpi, in my experience, it's not stable! no wonder they quote higher clocks!!!


    :roll:

    and then their 9-9-9-27 clocks didn't reach 1866 @ 1.35 V? weird...must be sub-timings.
     
  22. ucanmandaa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    168 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    North Cyprus
    can you test these on an amd platform too? (am3+ or fm1)
     
  23. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,044 (4.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,202
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I have. The scaling for OC is very similar, although a wee bit more voltage for the DIMM itself is required for some reason. I use X79 for reviews as the clocking is really good, and the performance is great for showing real differences in performance. If, in the future, there are kits specific to a platform that requires testing on that platform, I'll adjust the test paltform at that time.

    Or do you have a different question?:laugh:

    I always test ram on all current platforms. That means AM3+, FM1, 1155, and 2011. It clocks very much the same on 1155, but both AMD paltforms seem to have a bit more trouble in OC, but to me, this is normal.

    I have not yet tested with an FX chip(I used an 1100T), but I will do that when time provides(maybe this weekend). I have several other reviews I am working on so my time is quite limited at the moment. During the day I'm taking care of my son while testing(which works great as he likes to see all the new parts too), and during the night I can be found on the TPU BF3 TeamSpeak, as there are quite a few of us that play nightly.

    LuLz. While writing this post, I went and got my son a snack, had to reboot the test rig doing memtest, and change some settings becuase it was showing errors. AND I switched laundry. :roll: Memory testing takes a fair bit of time, but it fits really well with all the other things I gotta do, so if there is something specific you are looking for let me know, and I can take a look. If I don't have an answer in a couple of days, remind me, as the hectic schedule I've got means I sometimes forget things.:laugh:
     
    ucanmandaa says thanks.
  24. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    those ram's i really become love them cuz of u dave, great work mate
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  25. ucanmandaa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    168 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    North Cyprus
    I am currently using a 1090t so thats why I was wondering how well these kits work on amd platforms. I just purchased a pair of these... I couldn't resist after reading your review :)
     
    cadaveca says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page