1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Samsung launches terabyte drive

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Jun 19, 2007.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Samsung has become the third major hard drive manufacturer to hit the 1TB barrier with a 3.5” hard drive, following in the footsteps of Hitachi and Seagate - although it manages to achieve a greater density than either of those two. The 1TB F1 series drive, as it will be called, spins at 7,200 rpm using three platters of 334GB, giving it a density of 241 Gb/square inch. Seagate’s equivilent has four 250GB platters giving it a density of 205 Gb/square inch, whilst Hitachi has the lowest density on its 1TB drive, using five platters of 200GB giving a density of 144 Gb/square inch. Samsung’s recommended price for the 1TB F1 drive is $400, with the drive presumably going on sale almost immediately.

    Source: TG Daily
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2007
  2. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,495 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,196
    i think you messed up... you said seagate's and hitachi's drives have the same density...
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,104 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,163
    If this is a story about Samsung, why does it show a Seagate logo?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  4. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Both very justified comments, I did screw up. Sorry for the mistakes, thanks for letting me know :toast:
     
  5. Nemesis881 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    692 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Dawsonville, GA
    Honestly...who needs 1tb of space..
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,104 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,163
    Don't worry to much about it, we all make mistakes. That is why there are backspace keys on keyboards.
     
    Jimmy 2004 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  7. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Lol, a world without the 'backspace' - that would be interesting!
     
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,803 (3.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    sweet. effectively, that makes it a 1002 gb hard drive, more than hitachi and seagate


    Not a bad price really. I think the 750s are around 200 usd right now. Thanks Jimmy
     
  9. MiST91 Guest

    you would be very amaized that ppl do actualy need 1TB, but it is mainly ppl with lots and lots of video/movies and/or games or people who only use about 80GB but like to say they have got 1TB, but i would never use up 1TB, i dont even think i would use up 300GB tbh
     
  10. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,947 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    [​IMG]
    :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Dark Ride Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    542 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Two things you can never have enough of; RAM and disk space.
     
  12. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,947 (5.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have enough of both :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I could easily use a 1TB drive, maybe even 2. I have 850GB spread between my 2 main machines, and I still have to regularly archive some of my stuff to DVD to free up space.
     
  14. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    I think one of my drives is on the way out, so I've ordered a new 500GB WD drive... I do fill up 180GB without any movies, although that is due to having three OSes as much as anything else...
     
  15. Ripper3

    Ripper3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,386 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    London, England
    I could easily imagine myself filling up a 1TB hard drive quickly.
    Like Jimmy, I'd have a number of OSes. I'd partition to 3 primary partitions, then a number of logical partitions. Primary partitions for Windows XP, Windows Vista (possibly), and documents. The others I'd end up using for linux distros, or messing with MacOSx86 or something similar, I'd imagine.
    I think once you have the space, you'll end up feeling the need to fill it up to its entirety.
    At first, my 120GB was enough, but recently, I've been buying games, trying new distros, and the space has filled up quickly. Too quickly.
     
  16. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    2,111 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,389
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I'm slowly filling up my 500GB external. Why wouldn't desktop users need 1TB? In contrast, how many people said they'd never fill up their first 40GB-60GB drive?

    Besides... 32MB cache? Large capacity? Probably some pretty good transfer speeds?
    If it wasn't for the SATA-II and drive speed, this thing would have "Server" written all over it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,095 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    238
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    I don't have a backspace :cry:

    I do have 2 enters though. And an eject! :laugh:
     
  18. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Don't forget 2 deletes, F13-16, but no Print Screen(the only thing I dislike about this keyboard. lol)
     
  19. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Lol, I have my drives partitioned but it still gets out of hand - when I get my 500GB I should be able to sort it out better and use my current 80GB drive to put any rubbish on.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page