1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Samsung S3 keeps resetting

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by El_Mayo, Sep 8, 2013.

  1. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,775 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    My Samsung SIII just won't stop resetting. Sometimes it begins the boot sequence with the model number and make on the screen and immediately resets indefinitely, or sometimes whilst I'm using it. Anyone know if this is a hardware or software problem? :)
     
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    Tried a factory reset as a last resort?
     
    El_Mayo says thanks.
  3. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,775 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    Nah how do I do that? :)
     
  4. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,188 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,979
    Location:
    Home
  5. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,473 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    356
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    turn the phone off
    hold home + volume up
    press power while holding home + volume up
    continue holding home + volume up until you get into recovery
    once in recovery use volume rocker to chose factory reset data and power or home to select it

    XDA will be able to help
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1569
     
  6. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,775 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    It's resetting before I can get the chance to select factory reset haha I'll have to get lucky that it stays on long enough first
     
  7. maksic87

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    42 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    SS Muffin
    RMA it. IMO it's a hardware issue :)
     
  8. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    I had this issue and RMA'd my phone. It is a hardware issue, it's related to the eMMC chip being defective.
     
  9. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,937 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,376
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yeah resetting first if the problem still stay i guess better rma it.
    does your phone get too hot or act someting unusual
     
  10. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,775 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    It did get a bit hot sometimes actually

    I tried to but Samsung sent me the phone back because the phone's IMEI number showed that it's an international model so they wouldn't repair it
     
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,784 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,058
    its dead. you need to RMA. its not quite made of reliable components.

    if you have the original purchase receipt they will have to RMA it.



    if they dont... learn from the mistake and move on to another brand. XD
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,369 (11.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,660
    ignore DDD, he's a nokia fanboy (now a microsoft fanboy since they got bought out).



    the S3 could very well be software. reset all settings and update to the latest firmware, if that doesnt do it, its physically damaged somehow and needs to be replaced.
     
  13. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,677 (9.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,153
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Press and hold, all of the buttons same time, the volume UP, home and power buttons. When you see the Samsung logo, release all three buttons. If this works, you should see a menu. Use the volume up and down buttons to select Factory reset, then press the power button.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    You need to download the eMMC brick bug app, if you have a faulty chip, then you're boned if you can't get it repaired under warranty.

    I know this from having the exact same problem with my SGS3. If it isn't a faulty chip, then by all means do a factory reset and update via Kies. 4.3 should be with us in a couple of months.

    :D

    If it is bugged and you can't get it repaired under warranty, do not flash a custom ROM.
     
  15. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,775 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    I'd try that but the phone won't get to the stage of turning on for me to download it haha

    The seller has agreed to RMA it though so I need to send it to the USA
     
  16. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,484 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    As it's a US model, you're better off getting your money back.
     
  17. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I agree, could be messy shipping overseas and waiting etc.

    Side note: I was just thinking I haven't seen you for a while around here, how's things man, be sure to pop over to the clubhouse and check in when you're around :toast:
     
  18. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,175 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    There was this software bug in some of Samsung's Android phones and just a firmware update fixed it. Anyways, if you have warranty, RMA it. :)
    As for Samsung's quality, they are top notch. And till now, I have seen that their phones are the only ones which remains alive after some water damage- Thanks to the epoxy coating they use surrounding the important BGA chips. As for Nokia, their phones have a Samsung EEPROM itself and many of their phone's LCD are made by Samsung. XD
     
  19. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,775 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    bought the phone last October so I don't think that's an option haha I would if I could
     
  20. El_Mayo

    El_Mayo

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    2,775 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    209
    Update: Got the phone back it's fixed but I had to call eBay 4 times to get in contact with the seller after sending off the phone. They listed a number that went straight to voicemail (probably intentionally) but I eventually contacted the seller in a 3-way call with an eBay customer advisor who told me my phone would be fixed. I got his number in the conference call and called him right after to rant a bit, when he told me he would charge me for repair. I told him I refuse and I would contact eBay if he tried to bill me after agreeing to fix it in an eBay message. He fixed it at no charge but I've got it back now. I won't buy any electronics online before checking they have an EU warranty, that's what I've taken from this!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page