1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sandy Bridge-Based Pentium Dual-Core G840 Processor Surfaces

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,847 (11.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,714
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The first Intel Pentium branded processor based on the Sandy Bridge architecture surfaced in China. The Pentium Dual-Core G840 as it's identified, is said to be based on the 32 nm dual-core silicon. It differs from Core i3 dual-core processors in having no HyperThreading technology (one thread per core), and 3 MB of L3 cache enabled. The AVX instruction set also seems to be lacking according to the CPU-Z screenshot.

    The Pentium G840 is clocked at 2.80 GHz, with a base clock of 100 MHz, and 28x multiplier. The embedded Intel HD Graphics GPU is clocked at 850 MHz, with 1100 MHz GPU Turbo Boost frequency. The processor cores lack Turbo Boost. The chip has a TDP of 65W. Pricing and availability details are awaited, though expect this LGA1155 chip to cost under $100.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: INPAI
     
  2. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    The move to make their most profound and famous brand their lowest performing chip baffles me. Back in the Pentium and Pentium Pro days, every pc was defined as a pentium or pentium compattible pc...
     
  3. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,447 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I think the name lost that status with the pentium 4 when AMD's Athlon was king of the hill, though AMD have now done the same. Since the core series the pentium chip has been the mid/low end next to the celeron which i believe has now been displaced by the pentium.
     
  4. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,895 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Singapore
    I dunno the P4s weren't that bad. I still have one of those with HT running somewhere and it's acceptably fast for browsing and stuff.
     
  5. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,823 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,576
    same here and it's also 2.8 GHz. However 65W seems high for this
     
  6. caleb

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,551 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    206
    Location:
    Poland,Slask
    He didn't say they were bad just that Athlon's owned back then.

    Ahh the good old nforce2 times ;)
     
  7. AnaMaria81

    AnaMaria81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    38 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    This proc is good for a small low power server running 24/7. And I'm thinking to a nice VPN also. ;)

    Now, all I need is the cheapest mobo and 4gb ddr3 out there
     
  8. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Every man and his dog knows the P4 branding, so this is a good move from intel, keep it simple so even the basic of people know what it is. Even back then know one new what AMD was let alone them been faster then the P4's of the era.
     
  9. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    I think $100 seems a bit high for what it is.
     
  10. Munki

    Munki

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    As with everything in technology, it advances and the old become less significant. That is how I view it.
     
  11. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Good point, Pentium and Athlon names have just been used way to long!
     
  12. nINJAkECIL

    nINJAkECIL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Pity that this pentium can't be OCed like the previous gen pentium E2xxx/E5xxx
     
  13. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,095 (4.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,274
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    not really. Transistors still leak whether in use or not.
     
  14. robertc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    Why do you say this won't be able to be OC'ed like those?

    I have a E5200 oc'ed to 4.25GHz now.
     
  15. Over_Lord

    Over_Lord News Editor

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Messages:
    752 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Location:
    Manipal
    Shame, no speed difference from the Pentium G9650

    New socket(thought this was budget). The Pentium G9650 would overclock like hell, this doesn't. I feel pathetic even saying I**EL
     
  16. nINJAkECIL

    nINJAkECIL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    235 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    because only the unlocked multiplies processors are able to OCed, and surely this one doesn't have unlocked multiplier
     
  17. robertc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    85 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Location:
    Garland, TX
    Gotcha, didn't realize you HAD to get the -K variants to get decent OC'ing. Just figured the -K were like the "black" edition AMD's with the unlocked multiplier.
     
  18. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,115
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
    Anyone else notice that the CPU pictured is inscribed with 3.10 GHz?
     
  19. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    474 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    And does this processor come with a set of leg shackles for the new owner, just to get you into the spirit of things? :shadedshu
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page