1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sandy Bridge Build

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by Johnny5, Jan 15, 2011.

  1. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  2. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    You are not going to believe this lol...wait one.

    I was going to say that was crazy...:laugh:

    Attached Files:

    • LOL!.jpg
      LOL!.jpg
      File size:
      177.7 KB
      Views:
      133
  3. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Need to build a wishlist, screenshot your cart, or link to products. By giving a link to your cart just calls on us viewing whats in our own personal carts currently.
  4. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Updated first post.

    See if it worked
  5. rickss69

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,431 (1.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    604
    Location:
    Rockvale TN (Not Australia)
    That will never work...not the same as mine. :laugh:
  6. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    LOL @ rick

    Not bad Johnny.
  7. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I asked this on another thread but what cooler brackets work with this socket?
  8. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    1156 coolers are compatible to 1155.
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,013 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,762
    id ditch that A Data SSD and get a OCZ Vertex 2 120GB. much better for only $20 more
    freebie says thanks.
  10. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    According to wizzards review the Adata is a better value.
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,013 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,762
    alright. good to know
  12. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    I went with this motherboard instead GIGABYTE GA-P67A-UD3 LGA, I figured it was better since it had a 2nd PCI-E 16x slot for when I get a 2nd 6950.

    Is that actually going to matter over the ASUS board I had in the first post?
  13. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,013 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,762
    well sandy bridge can't run dual GPU at full x16 lanes unless you get an Evga board with the NF200 chip when release. Other then that your stuff at x8/x8
  14. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,842
    the UD7 claims 16x16x8x8 same as the P55 versions;)
  15. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,013 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,762
    hes not getting the UD7??????:confused:
  16. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    What does this mean performance wise?
  17. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,309 (7.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,842
    you are right the asus does dual at 8 x 8 :(

    Means very little to be honest. I run my 470s 8X8 due to the spacing;) Even benches dont show much loss if any, I haven't seen it at least.
  18. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,013 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,762
    well i know for a fact if you try to run a gtx580 or hd5970 at x8 x8 then your performance will go down by like 5% or more. Might not be an issue for OP. just something to consider
  19. Sinzia

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    817 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    195
    I've done some personal tests with running at 8x8x vs 16x16x

    Its such a small difference that I couldn't tell, however I'd be more interested in whats the slowest slot, since I run a raid controller card, and also a 9800GTEE for physx.
  20. renozi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Glendale, Arizona
    That Asus board is a solid. I've never overclocked so easily before. Such a breeze! :)
  21. Johnny5

    Johnny5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    218 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Now I wish I went with the ASUS board just for that fancy BIOS it has...

    GAWD
  22. renozi New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    255 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Glendale, Arizona
    funny enough, I also came from a q6600!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page