1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sandy Bridge CPU on Ivy bridge motherboard doable?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by sy5tem, Oct 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    Hello

    My old z68 MTB is caput, now i need to buy a new mtb. with my old i7-2600 work on a new z77 motherboard?

    if you have done this or tested this tell me if it work or not!



    thank you
     
  2. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    did it ever occur to you to just google it? i know it sounds retarded but you would have your answer you could also look up Z77 mobos from various vendors and check the CPU list that would ahve told you as well.


    long story short yes it will work.
     
    tacosRcool says thanks.
  3. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    have you ever googled anything latelly? it give lots of result.

    i want to know if anybody tested it that's all im asking. i don't want to buy a board and be stuck ... nothing too crazy about that ?
     
  4. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
  5. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    alright, now i just hope all gona work vt-d / slat / vt-x ... as those are barelly documented.

    ty
     
  6. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    ::EDIT:: I am a little special sometimes. Currently writing "I will not skim posts on TPU" 50 times on a blackboard. ::EDIT::
     
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2012
  7. ChristTheGreat

    ChristTheGreat

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    929 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    375


    by vt-d and t hose, he means the virtualisation technology...
     
    Binge says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Good news the chipset has jack shit to do with visualization.
     
  9. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    what? lol

    get your fact strait bud buddy.

    According to Intel, the following Desktop Boards support Intel VT with Directed I/O:

    Chipset Desktop Board
    Z77 DZ77GA-70K, DZ77BH-55K, DZ77GA-70K
    H77 DH77KC, DH77EB, DH77DF
    B75 DB75EN
    Q67 DQ67EP; DQ67OW; DQ67SW
    Q57 DQ57TM; DQ57TML
    Q45 DQ45CB; DQ45EK
    Q35 DQ35JO; DQ35MP

    and the list go on.

    i7-2600 on a asus maximus-iv extrem-z NO GO for VT-D ( mean i can't use directpath to pass HD Controller or Video card Driectly to VM's under esxi.
     
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    How interesting since the gene-z utilizing the exact same Z68 chipset does support VT-d. How weird is that it's like the chipset has nothing to do with it. VT-d is activated via the BIOS and there are very few 1155 boards that do support it most of which are available through Intel and Asus. If you want me to be more specific ALL AMD 970 and 990 boards added it with the release of the new processors, but boards as old as the 890 series support it with a BIOS update. Again VT-d has absolutely nothing to do with the chipset so go ahead and remove the foot from your mouth and stop contradicting people with little to no research into the matter.
     
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
  11. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal

    i will removed the foot from my mouth , when intel / amd and ASUS will start freekin documenting if they support or not those technologies. i ad this extreme-iv motherboard as a gaming machine, i wanted to convert to VM box. how could i know asus would not include the option in the bios?
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Research would be a good place to start.
     
  13. sy5tem

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    447 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Canada/quebec/Montreal
    yes of course research yes easy ! try searching ... there 1 thousand google link , no certainty . i was not about to go and buy 6 motherboard just to try it.

    forum use to be a good place to ask about these thing , as not everybody publish their experiment to the web. but NOoOOoOOoOOo do not dare ask anything ,, GOOGLE IT!!!

    forums used to be a nice place now you should just close em, cause you can google anyways.
     
  14. BarbaricSoul

    BarbaricSoul

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,179 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,056
    Why is everyone being such a dick to the OP? Damn guys, being a dick to people asking questions isn't what TPU is about. May aswell start hanging out at Hard if you people are going to start acting like that here for no reason.
     
    sy5tem, qubit, remixedcat and 7 others say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,411 (2.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    572
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    Fully agree, crazeyeyes this aint like you , too smarmy cdawall its like a question offended you two , you dont have to read org reply ftm.
     
  16. itsover65

    itsover65 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Nowhere South Carolina USA
    I remember when this used to be a good forum. Full of helpful and friendly folk. Seems like everything has changed for the worse lately. :shadedshu
     
  17. EarthDog

    EarthDog

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,316 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    683
  18. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Yeah I agree. Lately some people here have been very disrespectful and at times even hurtful, I need not mention any names as you know who you are. Maybe it is because the world is all fucked up I do not know. But looking at some of the posts here I wonder why...

    GOOGLE is not always the best place to find things when you are confused and have no idea what you are looking at. Some people think they know so much and that you should be just as smart as they are! And when you are not you get treated like shit.
    @op. I hope that you get the answers you need. I for one do not even know what you are looking for as I am NOT that smart. :ohwell:

    As I know it the CPU takes care of the VT and the MB has nothing to do with it but I could be wrong.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  19. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    It did. Plenty of documentation available on anything from google, to the motherboard manufacturers site, to random reviews of said boards. A simple google search does pull up all the info he needed I know because I googled it to find his answer.

    I remember when intelligent questions were asked on this forum instead of simply googled things. I also know the OP knows better he isn't dumb he has plenty of intelligent posts throughout the forums...



    As for the VT-d it is of the I/O ports and requires certain boards to work...It is a BIOS flag as much as a CPU flag.
     
  20. Derek12

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,099 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Virtualization also depend of the BIOS itself, but todays it's not a concern as most modern BIOS support it... Very often the mobo's user guide specifies that.

    This was more a concern on laptops as many had hardware VT support but it was diabled in BIOS without the ability to enable
     
  21. remixedcat

    remixedcat

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,952 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    646
    In order to do Client Hyper-V on windows 8 you need SLAT support in full. Other wise you can't use the built in windows hypervisor and you will need to use something like vmware or virtualbox.
     
  22. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs


    [​IMG]
     
  23. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    lulz nice troll post :toast:
     
  24. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs

    Thanks had to do it. His response makes me feel he is an abused child. :toast:
     
  25. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    still i did the work for him really isnt that hard to google it

    google the CPU does it have VT-d or w.e if yes now check mobo you want does it support it yes? awesome

    as for his original question it really only took a google search lol

    Normally im not a douche but seriously the initial links took 5 seconds of googling. The phrase help those that help themselves comes to mind.

    the Virtualization question was a valid one as even if a CPU supports it the mobo might not but as you can see in the OP all he was asking was sandy bridge on socket z77

    example

    Google : z77 support sandy bridge?
    scroll down you will find
    http://www.legitreviews.com/article/1868/5/

    which is a reviewer testing a 2600k on z77 kinda says it all took less then 10 seconds to find that answer.

    I don't mind helping people but it sure would be nice if they actually put in a little effort first. Most of the time people tend to be lazy and expect someone else to do the leg work which as you can guess gets real old real quick when 100s do it on a daily basis.
     
    Last edited: Oct 21, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page