1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Sandy Bridge-E VT-d Broken In C1 Stepping, Fixed In C2 Stepping, Shortly After Launch

Discussion in 'News' started by qubit, Oct 2, 2011.

  1. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    This part of the "news" is your own addition and has a nice scent of bias. You can say that it's your own analysis of the news bit on VR, but there are a few flaws with it.

    The most important thing to note is that VT-d is not present on desktop platforms. Not only the CPU has to support VT-d, but also key motherboard components (NB/SB). On desktop consummer products these "features" are disabled. They are also disabled on desktop consummer CPUs.

    Enterprise customers are not "most buyers" and they do know exactly what features they need and what they don't need. Also they would not normally buy a consumer grade desktop computer. They will buy enterprise grade workstations and servers, which is the Xeon brand, with Xeon compatible motherboards that will support VT-d if they indeed need this feature.

    Games, like "first person shooters", are not an really what servers are for. Your trying to plant an idea in the minds of gullable TPU readers (I really hope they buy Bulldozers, I don't want them on the Intel camp), that SB-E has some major flaw that will affect their gaming performance. In reality this doesn't concern anyone since VT-d is disabled at the hardware level on consumer grade desktops.

    So why is a bug in a disabled feature important? It's not.

    By the time we get Xeons in the channel, they will all be C2. There will be no need for any recalls and "free replacements".

    Sorry to lash out like this, but I thought TPU was above this.
     
  2. zsolt_93

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    311 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Romania
    What about these?
    2820QM
    2600
    Some i7s have vt-d and even mobile models do. So no Xeons here. Playing games on a virtual machine depends from vt-d so there was nothing wrong in the OP.
     
  3. Sihastru

    Sihastru

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    357 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    67
    Location:
    You are here.
    Mobile platforms yes, because those platforms are multi-purpose. I did say desktop platforms, also I don't think we have Sandy Bridge E on X79 motherboards laptops. Not yet anyway.

    The desktop processors that do support VT-d, require a special chipset, braded as "Q", Q67 for example, for the 2600, with compatible BIOS, and that is a workstation chipset meant for enterprise. Even there you can't be sure you'll have full VT-d support, they will only give you AMT support (that requires some VT-d features).

    Do not confuse VT-d with VT-x.

    Also for those thinking that buying a Bulldozer is the answer, AMD-Vi is not supported on the desktop variants, you'll need to buy an "Opteron" part. Also, don't confuse AMD-V with AMD-Vi (for IOMMU). Again, you'll need a server motherboard, your desktop motherboard won't support AMD-Vi.
     
    MikeMurphy says thanks.
  4. shb-

    shb-

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    56 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I see no real problem here, 2600K does not have VT-d at all, and nobody seems to have problem with that. On most mobos/bioses VT-d is disabled by default, so god only knows how many nahalems/other VT-d capable CPUs are actually running with it disabled. I think only few of those hardcore gamers/encoders/OCers who are looking towards X79, truly care about virtualization.

    Its good to know of course. And it’s still nice to have it, although u don’t actually use it (for e-dicks sake).

    And afaik virtual box does not support VT-d, yet:
    https://www.virtualbox.org/ticket/5252
    so only those who have VMWare licenses can utilize it.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
  5. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    ^ The 2600 and 2600 do have it, which is why you might not many people taking issue with it.
     
  6. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Kinda how I see it.:toast:
     
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Only the non-K models have VT-d. How Ironic.

    List of processors with VT-d.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. zsolt_93

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    311 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Romania
    K models are missing Vt-d. Apart from that tyhere are even i5 s like the 2400 with it.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  9. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Yeah, I just noticed that. S models have it too. Not K.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. Jegergrim

    Jegergrim New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    393 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Denmark
    Why doesn't this bode well with the lga 1155 6 series boards with gen 3 switches?
     
  11. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,464 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    650
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Yup. Gotta check per chip these days. Intel throws in an 'asterisk' or two here and there, breaking series commonality. Ex: All 34xx Xeons have HyperThreading * Except the X3430.
     
    FordGT90Concept says thanks.
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,633 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,849
    So why does the high end not have everything?
     
  13. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    The SB 'K' parts are specifically marketed to home desktop users interested in overclocking. Everything else with VT-d can be sold to corporate and government customers who might have the need for such a thing.

    The C1 stepping of SB-E not having VT-d will only affect users who need hardware virtualization...
    Although I'm sure it will also reduce the sales of SB-E to home users who have no use for VT-d, just because of the appearance of a problem (for their usage of the chip).
     
  14. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Here's the comparison of the three 2600 models. There's actually lots of pretty significant differences among them:
    http://ark.intel.com/compare/52215,52214,52213

    Most notable:
    -S has a lower base clock (2.8 GHz vs 3.4 GHz) and as a consequences, a 65w TDP instead of 95w.
    -2600 has Embedded Options Available (longer support lifecycle)
    -K has HD 3000 while S and 2600 have HD 2000
    -K does not have vPro, VT-d, nor Trusted Execution Technology support.


    Curse them for not K.I.S.S.ing. :banghead:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,914 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    looks like we need another new news editor.
     
  16. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,633 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,849

    be honest here if its a high end unit i want all the functions of it on there. TBH intel is confusing with all this crap now
     
  17. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Overclock & decent integrated graphics: 2600K
    Save power: 2600S
    Otherwise: 2600
     
    [H]@RD5TUFF says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. [H]@RD5TUFF

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    5,615 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,707
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Intels naming scheeme isn't that hard to understand .. .
     
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,931 (3.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,528
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Because when PCI-E 3.0 becomes mainstream, everything in the chain must work together to deliver it, so if some part is out of spec the whole thing fails (and falling back to spec 2.0 for partial functionality would be a failure). If Intel isn't able to qualify compatibility, then you can just see mobos released without this certification being decidedly flakey and everyone shirking responsibility when people try to claim under warranty. In short, it'll be ugly.
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
  20. parelem

    parelem

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Messages:
    228 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Chicago
    the whole 1155 platform is NOT high end, it's mid range.
     
  21. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,633 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,849
    regardless they released a CPU that is high end for it, aka Core i7, which is on 1366 aswell, core i7 i recalled was the high end cpus.
     
  22. Inceptor

    Inceptor

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Messages:
    497 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    The operative word being 'was'.
    Core i7 is now only 'high end' when associated with Sandy Bridge Extreme.
    Core i7 2xxx are now only 'mid-range performance cpus'
    Welcome to the present.
     
  23. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,096 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,915
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Core i7 = performance
    Core i5 = mainstream
    Core i3/Pentium/Celeron = budget

    LGA 1366/2011 = enthusiast/workstation/entry-level server (high premium on motherboards largely due to the chipset)
    LGA/BGA 1156/1155 = desktop/laptop
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2011
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    417 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Opteron are cheap, unlike intel server platforms, you could buy a dual socket C32 motherboard with [whatever opteron available for that socket], for less than 1000$, just take a look at newegg.

    On the other side, AMD-Vi seems interesting (hey, having direct access to each hardware part sounds really cool) But in my case I only know that each AMD processors in existance supports AMD-V and its the only thing I need for running my Virtual Box at decent speed. And the difference is noticeable with AMD-V turned off.

    Unlike intel and its VT, all amd processors support AMD-V. Except perhaps, zacate and llano. No wait, llano supports it. Zacate too!
     
  25. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,654 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    175
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Comparing this to barcelona is retarded. You couldn't reproduce that TLB if you tried. This feature just doesn't work. Two entirely different things.

    But don't let that stop anyone from spewing crap (about either side). :banghead:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page